An Unspecified Error Occurred During CHKDSK

I wanted to test a hard drive.  I put it into an external USB enclosure and connected it to an ASUS Eee PC.  I booted the Eee using a multiboot USB jump drive.  Upon booting, I chose the Windows 7 Recovery Disk and ran CHKDSK from the Command Prompt.

I made many attempts to check and fix that external hard drive, using CHKDSK /R and CHKDSK /B.  They all failed.  Attempts using /I (e.g., CHKDSK /B /I) did not fail, but of course those produced a warning that /I would not necessarily repair disk problems.  When the attempts failed, they failed in stage 2 of 5, and most if not all produced this error message:

An unspecified error occurred (696e647863686b2e e19).

I hoped that, by running CHKDSK many times, perhaps the program would slowly eat its way through whatever corruption it might be encountering.  At first it appeared that this might be taking place.  But at some point I became convinced that we were not getting past the 25% mark, and in some cases the number of index entries processed was actually less than had been processed on the previous try.

I ran a search on the “unspecified error” message.  This produced a plethora of plausible possibilities.  It tentatively appeared that there might be different causes of the unspecified error.  Mine, for instance, might have been caused by something that would only produce the “e19” at the right end of the error message shown above.

Some of the solutions suggested in those webpages, or coming to mind as I read, were that trying with a different machine might solve the problem; perhaps the (Samsung) hard drive manufacturer’s diagnostic CD would help; maybe I could accomplish something with other DOS-like commands (e.g., FIXMBR); maybe some other program (e.g., TestDisk) would do a better job than CHKDSK; possibly I could boot into Windows 7 and use its disk checking feature to fix the problem (i.e., in Windows Explorer, right-click on the drive > Properties > Tools > Check Now > check both boxes); conceivably an Eee driver update would help.  I dismissed the possibility that the Eee’s copy of CHKDSK was bad; I had just used it successfully in that same configuration with a different external USB drive in a different USB enclosure (actually, a mere drive dock); I did wonder, though, whether the problem might be related to the particular USB enclosure.  If I had needed to replace CHKDSK, one suggestion was to use this command:

expand Y:\I386\chkdsk.ex_ C:\Windows\system32\chkdsk.exe

where Y would be the CD drive where the Windows 7 installation CD was loaded.

I had initially been trying to run CHKDSK on two separate drives simultaneously, each running in its own separate CMD window created from the Command Prompt link on the System Recovery Options provided by booting with a Windows 7 Rescue CD, installed onto that multiboot USB drive as described in the link above.  I wondered whether that approach of having two CHKDSK sessions running at once had perhaps confused the system.  So I started by simply rebooting back into the Windows 7 Rescue CD.  Even less dramatically, I might have tried just closing that CMD window, opening a new one, and trying CHKDSK in that.

The simple reboot made a difference.  We got past the 25% mark.  CHKDSK ran successfully.  Trying to run two sessions of CHKDSK may have been the culprit.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to An Unspecified Error Occurred During CHKDSK

  1. koheda says:

    Did you get solucation? Am facing the same issue. If yes, please share

  2. Ray Woodcock says:

    That comment comes from Matthew Bradley, of Bradley Electronics, whose website says, “We pride ourselves in being able to handle a wide range of complexities.” Based on Matthew’s comment, however, it seems that pride has yet to be earned.
    It appears, for one thing, that Matthew does not yet have much experience in technical support. If he did, he would know that customers have all kinds of problems — that, in this case, they might arrive at this post by Googling a variety of error messages and other issues. A fair portion of this post is devoted to identifying and describing such problems.
    Most likely, Matthew himself arrived at this post by Googling one or more of the error messages or other terms appearing in the text. He came here looking for a solution, and apparently he found it. But once he got here, he decided that I shouldn’t have provided the text that would help other people find this post and its solution.
    I am glad that Matthew found his way to my post. I am glad that he got the answer. Presumably he is using that answer to help one of his customers, and is getting paid for it.
    There may be something wrong with a person who not only freeloads on the hard work of me, and of others like me, but who then turns around and finds fault with the way in which we are giving him that free assistance.
    I’m sure Matthew would not want to be thought of as a freeloader. I will revise this wording just as soon as he contributes something to me via the PayPal button. I will also provide a link to Matthew’s superior writeup of this issue when he sends me the link.
    At some point, Matthew may figure out that it really does not make much sense to attack people who are trying to help you. That’s the sort of behavior that one might expect of a teenager — of someone who takes his parents for granted, who believes that the adults of the world owe him something. I am pretty sure he will outgrow that eventually.

  3. andxyz says:

    I myself ran into this error when using a bootable usb to try to repair my harddrives MBR that had windows7 on it. I couldn’t get the e19 error to go away, no matter how many times I rebooted.
    My bootable windows repair pe was unable to get past the chkdsk e19 error.

    I ended up running chkdsk from another machine on the suspect harddrive. chkdsk ran fine on the drive, and corrected a few small issues.

    Thanks for your detailed post.

Leave a Reply

