Making Windows 7 Remember the Size & Location of Opened Windows

I wanted Explorer++ to open in a windows that would have the same size and location as where I had left it when I had last used that program.  In fact, I wanted this to happen for many different programs.  Explorer++ happened to be a portable that I wanted to always open in AeroSnap vertical half-windows; Firefox and Chrome were installed programs that I wanted to open in the same 3/4-size window as before; and so forth.  The functionality in question had existed in Windows XP.  Microsoft had removed it from Windows 7.  Maybe they thought that giving it back in Windows 8 would encourage people to upgrade, whenever Win8 came along.

I had discovered an epic Windows Seven Forums thread, spanning 22 screens and running from May 6, 2009 to October 8, 2012 and beyond.  I had previously worked through some of the suggestions found in that thread.  Nothing had worked.  Now I thought I might take another look at the problem.

One kind of suggestion was to use a utility designed for the purpose.  Examples included FileBox eXtender (free), WindowPad (free), SizeUp ($13), and DeskSoft WindowManager ($10).  AlternativeTo listed a half-dozen other free alternatives, among which WinSplit Revolution seemed to be the leader.  (I noticed that AlternativeTo also listed WinSplit and Divvy ($14), its closest competitor at AlternativeTo, as alternatives to AeroSnap.  Windy seemed to offer a freeware Windows alternative to Divvy.)  Along with utilities dedicated to the task, there were also many suggestions about how to move or resize windows to the places where you wanted them to be, followed perhaps by a click (or Ctrl-click, or Alt-click, etc.) on the X at the upper right corner of the typical window in Windows 7.  These maneuvers were supposed to help Windows 7 remember window sizes and places.  I had once had an experience where one such set of maneuvers seemed to work, but then that faded.  I wasn’t sure whether it was because of the particular program, or what the explanation might have been.

I downloaded WinSplit Revolution and set it up as a portable.  It seemed potentially useful for moving windows around onscreen, but did not seem to be getting program windows to open in the place where I wanted.  The procedure seemed to be:  put a window where you want it; hit Ctrl-Alt-NumPad 0 (that is, the zero key on the numeric keypad at the right end of the keyboard, not the one on the first row of numbers on a standard keyboard, right above the QUERTY row) to create a memory of the preferred location for that window; open another instance of that window; hit Ctrl-Alt-NumPad 0 to put that new instance in the saved location.  There were nine standard locations for windows (i.e., full screen, left half, right half, top half, bottom half, top left, bottom left, top right, bottom right), and apparently some possibility for changing those standard locations.  My problem was that each new instance of Explorer++ (for example) would still open in some other screwy location and I would then have to hit Ctrl-Alt-NumPad 0 to get it to go to the left side of the screen, which was where I preferred to have it.  This was not horrible; it was just not much different from using Aero Snap keyboard shortcuts (i.e., WinKey – Left Arrow).  In fact, what I *really* wanted was to have Explorer++ open in different places, depending on which specific folder it was showing.  But I kind of doubted I would get that.

I looked at some of the other programs just listed, but didn’t see anything of particular interest there either.  It felt a bit like I was looking for some kind of canned virtual machine that would always open up a bunch of programs in a nice, pre-programmed layout.  But I wasn’t in a rush to get back into the complexities of virtual machines.  So at the moment, this was still a work in progress.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

