YUMI: “Booting Find /menu.lst”

I was using YUMI to set up a multiboot USB drive.  I had already had success when using YUMI to set up other multboot USB drives, but this time I was using a Philips 2GB USB drive, and for some reason it wasn’t working as well.

It worked OK when I installed a couple of recognized items onto the Philips USB drive.  For instance, Ubuntu and Bitdefender were specifically listed in the YUMI installer’s list of programs that I could install, and those booted OK from the USB drive.  But when I tried YUMI’s option to “Try an Unlisted ISO,” from the bottom of its selection list, it didn’t work.  The other options were still there, when I booted the machine with the USB drive; but when I chose the “Directly Bootable ISOs or Windows XP” option at the bottom of the bootup menu, it gave me this:

Booting find /menu.lst, /boot/grub/menu.lst, /grub/menu.lst

That was with YUMI version  A search led to no helpful solutions.  I wondered if an upgrade might solve the problem.  The PenDriveLinux site was now offering version  I tried that.  I installed Macrium Reflect as an Unlisted ISO on the Philips USB drive.  Macrium was one of the programs that hadn’t worked in version, even after two tries.  No joy:  same problem.  The upgrade wasn’t the solution.

I wondered if it was just the Philips drive.  I tried the same procedure with a 4GB Kingston USB drive.  When I booted with that, it worked, just as it had previously worked with a Patriot USB drive.  So it was the Philips drive.  I had already tried a full (not quick) format on the Philips, so that didn’t seem to be the problem.  I had also used YUMI successfully with a much smaller (256MB) Lexar USB drive, among others, so it wasn’t that 2GB was too small.  It was apparently just a problem with how the Philips was constructed.  It seemed that it would work OK, as long as I didn’t try to use the Unlisted ISO option.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to YUMI: “Booting Find /menu.lst”

  1. Jeremiah Bixby says:

    I had the same issue. I was using a Sandisk Cruzer. The drive worked perfectly even with “Try an Unlisted ISO” but after it was accidentally DBANed. After the DBAN anytime I selected the “Try an Unlisted ISO” it would display what you mentioned “Booting find /menu.lst, /boot/grub/menu.lst, /grub/menu.lst” and stay at the command line. The easiest way to resolve the issue was simply to create a grub directory and copy or move the menu.lst to that directory. For example, the drive should have the root directory ( / ) then a directory labeled boot ( /boot) however mine did not have /boot/grub , so in the boot directory I created a folder named grub ( case sensitive). Then I copied the menu.lst to the grub directory. Now when I choose “Try an unlisted ISO” the proper menu will display and the iso’s will boot correctly.

  2. Jeremiah Bixby says:

    You also might find it interesting to know that I may have determined the root of my problem. When attempting to fix a reference issue I was having with YUMI I recieved the following error: “Error 43: The BPB hidden_sectors should not be zero for a hard-disk partition boot sector.” DBAN writes all zeros to the disk and apparently will do this even for the hidden sectors. This inherently caused the drive to be recognized as a different number. For example reference to hd0,0 will no longer locate the drive, because of the DBAN YUMI can only reference this drive at HD0,2 I believe it is. Perhaps the drive you are attempting to use also requires a different reference. Either way my initial post suggestion should resolve your specific problem.

  3. pcjco says:

    I just had the same problem (“Unlisted ISO using GRUB” was working with some USB drives but not with other ones…) but finally solved it by re-formatting the problematic USB drives by using HP USB Disk Storage Format Tool.

  4. John says:

    I’ve fixed this problem by formatting the USB drive using this tool. RMPrepUSB is a wonderful program to deal with bootable USB drives.


  5. David says:

    Thanks! I have the same problem and it’s working now, I have to do a fast format whit HP USB Disk Storage Format Tool.

Leave a Reply

