Installing Dragon NaturallySpeaking 12: Error 1722

I was installing Dragon NaturallySpeaking 12.0.  It seemed to run most of the way through the installation process.  Then it gave me an error:

Dragon NaturallySpeaking 12.0 Installer Information

Error 1722.  There is a problem with this Windows Installer package.  A program run as part of the setup did not finish as expected.  Contact your support personnel or package vendor.  Action InstallSpeechAPI, location:  C:\Windows\Installer\MSIC169.tmp, command: /q:a /r:n

I clicked OK.  It rolled back (i.e., undid) the installation.  Now I had to figure out the solution.  A search yielded no answers.  I went to Dragon’s support website and called their tech support number (407-241-0618).  After a five-minute hold, I got a technician using a really muffled microphone.  It seemed ironic that Dragon would have sound rendition problems.  We had to repeat most of his statements.

The technician registered me and informed me that my free tech support would expire three months from now.  Then he pointed me toward their Knowledgebase.  Apparently its contents were not available to Google searches.  There was an entry for Error 1722.  It said, in essence, that I needed to use Start > Run > SystemPropertiesAdvanced.exe > Performance Settings > Data Execution Prevention tab > Turn on DEP for essential Windows programs and services only.

I wasn’t reading the screen right; I let him go, only then realizing that I already had DEP set that way.  Since I had gone into this dialog and had fooled around, the system believed that I now needed to reboot in order to effect its changes.  I figured a reboot couldn’t hurt.  Then I tried the installation again.  This time, I chose Typical/Complete instead of the Custom installation option.

I don’t know what solved the problem — the reboot, or what — but that was all I needed.  The installation completed successfully.  The installer then identified a downloadable update, so I proceeded with that.  It seemed to run through a couple of updates.  Then it was done.  Mission accomplished.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

