Replacing HDD and Adding SSD, mSATA, and RAM to an Acer Aspire V3-772G-9829 Laptop

I had a new Acer Aspire V3-772G-9829.  This post discusses how I configured its hardware.

The 772G came with a 5400 RPM hard drive; I ordered a replacement 7200 RPM HGST Travelstar drive.  I planned to hold the original drive for a while, in case I wanted to return the Acer; eventually, I thought I might sell it with the unwanted virgin Windows 8 preloaded, to anyone who would actually want that operating system.  I also ordered a Kingston Digital 120GB SSDNow V300 2.5″ solid state drive (SSD).


I didn’t order RAM at this point; I had to investigate the possibilities, and Acer’s product webpage and hard-to-find support page weren’t making that too clear.  Later, when I had installed CPU-Z, I was able to take the screenshot shown here.  Its output seemed to agree with the Crucial System Scanner:  Crucial was steering me toward DDR3-1600 PC3-12800 RAM, CL=11, unbuffered, non-ECC, 1.35V (204-pin SODIMM).  The DRAM frequency was just under 800, for a double data rate (DDR) of 1600.  The timings shown are 11-11-11-28.  I hadn’t needed more than 12GB even on a desktop machine running all sorts of things, so I figured I might eventually add one more 4GB stick, presently around $40.  (Later, I did add this RAM.  The Moo0 SystemMonitor indicated that I was now using the page file less frequently and was, after all, using more than 8GB of RAM.)

Adding more RAM did not seem urgent; the SSD had lots of space for a pagefile.  There were concerns that constant reading and writing with a pagefile would shorten the SSD’s life; the reply seemed to be that, with lots of RAM, the pagefile would rarely if ever be used, and anyway SSDs were reaching a point where, for various reasons, this was less of an issue.  A Lifehacker article did point out that a RAM drive would be up to 20 times faster than an SSD (70 times faster than an HDD), so if pagefiling did seem to be taking place, I could consider adding a RAM drive for the pagefile.

Photo - Overview Edit 1Before installing any hardware, I wanted to make an image of the virgin Windows 8 partitions on the original 5400 RPM drive.  My way of making an image was to boot the machine from a YUMI USB thumb drive containing working copies of Acronis TrueImage Home 2011 and Macrium Reflect.  To get the Acer to boot the YUMI drive, I had to change the way the system booted up.  By default, it was set to UEFI, and as such it did not seem willing to recognize the YUMI drive when I hit F12 at bootup.  To fix this, I kept hitting F2 at startup, so as to open the startup settings.  There, I went into the Boot menu and changed the Boot Mode to Legacy.  Turning off UEFI would have been problematic if I had intended to boot Windows 7 from a single 3TB drive; it did not seem to pose issues where I was booting Win7 from a separate SSD and neither drive was over 2TB.

With the Boot Mode set to Legacy, the system would respond to F12 at restart, giving me a boot menu that included my YUMI drive.  By this point I had plugged in my external USB hard drive.  (Sometimes I had found that an external USB drive would prevent a system from booting, if it was connected at the very start.)  I told the system to boot from the YUMI drive.  On that drive, I went into Acronis.  The Acer touchpad was not responsive, so I used an external USB mouse.  I made backups in both Acronis and Macrium.  Macrium gave me this list of partitions on the virgin internal drive:

Recovery – NTFS primary – 400MB
ESP – FAT32 primary – 300MB
Unformatted primary – 128MB
Acer (drive C) – NTFS primary – 914GB
Push Button Reset – NTFS primary – 17GB

Those sizes were partition capacity.  Actual contents were considerably less.  Depending on compression, each image of all five partitions totaled around 26 GB.  Now I was ready to install my new SSD and hard drive.  I did this by following the advice in an instructional video.  Basically, I had to unplug the power and battery and remove the big panel on the back of the machine.  The screws did not actually come out of the panel; I had to gently pry the panel out with the loosened screws still partway inserted into it.  A Kingston video that I found after the fact advised that I should have pressed the power button after removing the battery and the power cable, just to be sure there was no lingering power in the system.

As shown in a video, this Acer had two drive bays and one mSATA slot.  For the one installed hard drive, I removed the two obvious but tiny screws and slid the drive out, away from where the screws had been.  Now I could see that, while Crucial incorrectly reported two RAM sockets, I actually had two in each of two banks, for a total of four sockets, with a reported maximum capacity of 32GB.

Photo - RAM Edit 1To remove an existing module, I would use a fingernail to push the clips aside.  Here, the photo shows the clips for Module 1 already partly pushed aside.  The module would then pop up.  If the clip sprang back into place, it might be necessary to start on the other side and/or to lift the module a bit.  To add another module instead of removing one, I would just push it into the empty socket (shown here as Socket for Module 2) and then push it down until its clips (Clips for Module 2) held it in place.  (When I did add the third module, later, I had to play around for a while before I figured out how to get it to go in all the way.  It was feasible; it just wasn’t super-easy.)

Installing two hard drives meant removing the mounting bracket (also called a caddy or a tray) from the stock drive and installing it onto the SSD, and also getting a second bracket for the replacement hard drive.  (The bracket is the light-colored piece of metal shown in the drive bay at the bottom left of the photo above.)  I had not realized that it would be necessary to buy a mounting bracket.  It was hard to find one.  The part number stamped onto the existing bracket was 13N0-7NM0302.  (Those are zeroes, not ohs.)  A search turned up very few references to it.  One user complained that it would cost $30-40 to buy this little piece of metal.  I eventually found it:  25 Euros (about $34) — and that was apparently for delivery within Europe.  This was not a situation calculated to inspire love of Acer.  Designing a substitute would not be easy:  the bracket had a little fin on each side, at the end opposite the electrical connectors, to fit into a slot in the Acer’s case; those fins and slots would support the drive largely in midair, for cooling.

It looked like a bracket for an Acer Aspire 771G might also fit.  A search for one of those led to iTecForLess and its apparent alter ego Jtec, both in Canada ($19 plus shipping; micro-screws not included!).  I sent them an email asking if they had a caddy for a 772G.  They eventually pointed me to exactly the right item in their product list.  But by that point, I had worked out my own solution.  First, I decided to use the existing caddy for the replacement hard drive, since (unlike the SSD) it had exposed circuits that might come afoul of whatever paper clips or pieces of rubber I might shove into the bay to support it in lieu of a genuine mounting bracket.  I swapped the bracket from the stock drive to the replacement drive, put the replacement HDD into drive bay 2, and focused my attention on the SSD and drive bay 1.

One possibility was to use tin snips to cut up a soup can and bend the resulting pieces into four appropriately sized and shaped brackets, one for each corner of the SSD.  I reasoned that it might not be necessary to have the two tongues that screws would affix to the case (see photo, above) if I could instead design springy brackets that would push up, down, and sideways at the opposite end of the SSD.  This sounded like a lot of work and perhaps several sliced fingers from the sharp edges of the tin, however, and anyway I figured most people do not have tin snips and therefore my solution would be unhelpful (though some kinds of ordinary scissors might also be sacrificed to the mission).

I noticed that the drive bay and the inside of the back panel came with pieces of foam and solid rubber installed.  I guessed that drive temperatures probably would not be so hot as to melt those pieces.  So it seemed that I might use rubber to keep the SSD in place upwards and downwards.  In the interests of cooling, I wouldn’t want to use big pieces that would block a lot of drive surface or hinder airflow.  The SSD came with a sort of rubber gasket; it looked to be about the right thickness to cushion between the SSD and the back panel.  I removed the protective tape from that gasket (except for the part near the electrical connectors, which I didn’t want to become adhered to the gasket – although maybe the lingering protective tape would eventually become enfouled with the connectors anyway).  I put the gasket in place.

Turning to the opposite side of the SSD (in this case, the side with the Kingston label), I found that I had a thick piece of double-stick foam.  Not quite thick enough.  I fortified it with a layer of double-stick tape.  I also put some double-stick tape onto the preexisting foam cushions near the connector end of the bay.  I left the protective tape in place on the top layer of double-stick foam; no need to permanently secure the SSD into the bay.  This three-point contact arrangement was not ideal, but with the length of the SATA connectors, it seemed unlikely that there would be twisting forces sufficient to cause damage.  So now I had my SSD cushioned from above and below, lying at the same level as the HDD in the other drive bay.

DSCN0671There remained the need to exert lateral pressure from the non-connector end of the SSD.  There was about 1/4″ of space to fill.  To solve this problem, I jammed an old shoe in there.  (Kidding.)  A few inches of thick electrical cable might have done the job:  sturdy but still somewhat springy.  A box of matches would be a particularly bad candidate for the task.  I remembered that I had sometimes temporarily placed desktop internal hard drives on cardboard boxes while doing maintenance.  On that basis, I decided to go with a rolled-up piece of cardboard backing from a notepad.  This piece wanted to unroll itself, and was therefore at least somewhat springy.  On further reflection, I saw that it covered an indentation in the left end of the drive bay, and might thus impede airflow.  So I cut it into two pieces, one for each side, leaving the center open.

DSCN0679Unfortunately, this did not work.  When I tried to reinstall the rear panel, I saw that it had a tab extending down into the open space between the left edge of the SSD and the case — exactly where my cardboard was.  On the positive side, it looked like the tab came within about 1 mm of the SSD.  The tab was thin but not flimsy; it had a bit of buttressing on its left side.  It appeared it might suffice to hold the SSD in its socket.

I went with that hypothesis.  I removed the pieces of cardboard, restored the rear panel, plugged in the battery and power cable, and turned it on to see what I had achieved.  F2 at bootup told me I did indeed have Kingston and HGST drives installed.  BIOS options on this machine did not seem to provide temperature information or permit temperature monitoring.  F12 at reboot took me into the YUMI drive, whence I booted Ubuntu 13.04 . . . not.  The Acer froze.  Well, of course.  I was trying to run the AMD64-specific version on an Intel CPU.  For some reason, it appeared that I would have to use a 32-bit version to get an Intel-specific version of Ubuntu 13.10 desktop.  I installed that ISO on the YUMI drive and tried again.  Still a freeze.  I tried booting Ubuntu 11.10 from DVD.  A different kind of freeze, but a freeze nonetheless.  That was odd — I had used that DVD many times in the past.  I tried booting Knoppix from the YUMI drive.  That ran.  I went into System Tools > System Profiler and Benchmark.  It reported only 2251MB of RAM.  There were mysteries here that would perhaps be resolved as I proceeded to install Windows 7.

It would eventually develop that I had put the SSD in the wrong bay.  Apparently Acer anticipated that some people would want to add SSDs; hence, they left drive bay 0 open for the SSD.  In other words, looking at the photos above, it seemed that I should have put the SSD in the bay on the right, not on the left.  Then again, an Amazon user’s comment seemed to say that drive bay 0 was SATA III while drive bay 1 was only SATA II.  I would rather have the faster SATA III access for large data files and leave the SSD to run at SATA II.

Another thing about the SSD:  updates.  At Kingston’s downloads webpage, the closest I could get to finding firmware updates for my SV300S37A/120G model was their SV300S3.  The FAQs at that page said I would not need special drivers and advised against defragmenting.  There didn’t seem to be any special downloads for my SSD.

The next time I opened the rear panel of the Acer, about two months later, I saw that the double-stick tape was still firmly in place.  The SSD was also largely still in place, though it had shifted slightly to one side.  To prevent that, I found two screws with relatively flat heads, screwed them into the holes on the sides of the SSD, and adjusted them until they made lateral movement impossible.


Installing the third RAM module did seem to make a difference.  Acccording to my Moo0 SystemMonitor, I now tended to be using more than 8GB of RAM, especially if I had a lot of browser tabs open, and I was also using the pagefile less frequently.  I was frankly surprised to be using the pagefile at all.  It seemed there might actually be a case for having even more than 12GB of RAM, though presumably that would use even more battery power when I was going portable.

Installing the SSD also made a difference.  After I proceeded to install Windows 7, I found that it made a very noticeable difference was in the speed of reboots and also, it seemed, in the restoration of data from the paging file and in other program-file accesses.  It did seem to have been a worthwhile investment.  Later, I added a 256GB mSATA drive in the sole remaining bay, and used it partly for oft-accessed data files and partly for the paging file.  It did not have an especially noticeable impact on performance; as people had advised, putting the Windows program drive (C) on SSD gave more bang for the buck.  Since the mSATA drive was not the primary hard drive, it did not improve my Windows Experience Index score (Control Panel > Performance Information and Tools).  To the contrary, for some reason, the Primary Hard Disk component of that index actually slipped a bit, from 7.9 (the highest possible) to 7.8.


This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to Replacing HDD and Adding SSD, mSATA, and RAM to an Acer Aspire V3-772G-9829 Laptop

  1. anthonyvenable110 says:

    Reblogged this on anthonyvenable110 and commented:

  2. Eduardo says:

    Ok…well i want to buy this laptop model ..but the Aditional RAM issue was not clear enough to me…so how much RAM does this lap support and how many memory slots got just as you recieve from acer??? Thax in advance. Regards

    • Ray Woodcock says:

      Good catch. Sorry about the error. I have corrected the text. In mine, there are four RAM sockets, two in each of the two bays shown in the photos. I haven’t rechecked the links to verify, but I believe they said the total capacity is 32GB. I have 3x4GB in mine. Cheers!

  3. TK says:

    For the HDD bracket: search for part number 33.RYNN5.001. It could fit, but I’m not sure.

  4. bootski says:

    just to confirm, are you successfully using 2 sata drive PLUS an msata drive on a v3-772G? what revision of the bios are you running? until this blog post, all the other reviews I’ve seen suggest that the v3-772G would only allow for any combination of 2 drives installed and not recognize the 3rd.

    • Ray Woodcock says:

      Wow. Good thing I didn’t come across those reviews. I might have been screwed. Yes, I have this thing fully loaded, except one RAM slot not yet used: three RAM sticks, a SATA SSD, a SATA HDD, and an mSATA drive. Everything seems to be working. Maybe the limit you mention is somehow built into the stock Win8 installation? Note the other post on how I installed Windows 7.

      • Zach says:

        I installed a fresh copy of Windows 7 and it worked great. However I recently added a mSATA drive and now half the time I boot my computer up, it doesn’t recognize the drive.
        I’m desperate to get this working consistently. Can you post a screenshot of your BIOS screen or at least describe your version # and what settings you use? Do you boot legacy?


        • Ray Woodcock says:

          Sorry, I no longer have access to that machine. I think the post does say I used Legacy, but I can’t remember the details of the setup. Wish I could help further.

  5. nik says:

    Do you see in bios both three disks? Before you had the disks in your laptop you could see in bios empty sata and msata slot?
    Thank you

    • Ray Woodcock says:

      I don’t remember what I saw when I installed these drives. But now I see four serial ATA drives during bootup. One is the DVD drive. The three others are the Hitachi hard drive, the BP4 mSATA drive, and the Kingston solid state drive. (To catch this during bootup, I had to use a video camera. I have my BIOS set to show the details, but they flash by very quickly.) The Information screen in my BIOS setup utility shows the mSATA and the Kingston drives, but not the Hitachi.

      Be that as it may, I am definitely using all three drives on a day-to-day basis. If others aren’t having success with that, I can only guess (as noted before) that this is a difference between the stock Windows 8 setup and my customized Windows 7 setup.

  6. hoseru says:

    which is SATAIII slot? the right or the far left position?

    • Ray Woodcock says:

      Ideally, someone would test this and tell us for sure, with some numbers on the performance differences. I can’t do it at the moment, myself. But my impression was that drive 0 is the one where the stock HDD was originally installed, and my recollection is that this was the right-hand bay (using the pictures and comments above for orientation). And I think bay 0 is the one that is supposedly SATA III.

      • Priit says:

        On the side of the heatsink and ethernet port is SATA II and on the other side SATA III.

      • Roachhotel says:

        What are the benefits of installing the ssd on the SATA III vs the SATA II? I plan to keep the stock hdd installed in one of the bays.

  7. richard says:

    hi is this more powerfull laptop than the lenovo y510p single GPU??

    • Ray Woodcock says:

      I don’t know. Windows Experience Index (WEI) is at Control Panel > Performance Information and Tools. My WEI is Processor 7.6, Memory 7.6, Graphics 5.8, Gaming Graphics 7.0, Primary Hard Disk 7.9. No idea why the Graphics score is so low, but I do have occasional graphics delays. Passmark’s PerformanceTest is free for 30 days. There are other sources too.

      All other things being equal, I would choose a Lenovo over an Acer. That’s based solely on my present comparision against a Lenovo ThinkPad E430. It is a solid machine. The Acer has been good too. But they seem to have thought more about the user at Lenovo. In most things, not everything.

  8. Lavsids says:

    Hi! I suppose one bay of HDD is for 15 mm HDD (2TB) (in your photo “Empty Hard Drive Bay) , the second is for 9.5 mm HDD (max 1.5TB)… There is difference between height of bays. Right?

    • Ray Woodcock says:

      I think the bays are the same height. Later, I moved the hard drive (shown in the first photo above) from the left bay to the right bay. It has a mounting bracket (or “caddy”) on it. I didn’t have to take that off or add anything else; I just removed the screws, moved it, and reinserted the screws. The SSD shown on the left side, in the last photo above, came with a rubber spacer for added thickness. That spacer is shown, self-adhered to the SSD, as the black ring around the SSD in that photo.

  9. Drew70 says:

    Thanks for posting this.
    Is the DVD-drive in a standard removable caddy?
    I was thinking of getting this notebook as a desktop replacement but am a storage freak, and thought I could have 4 drives in this thing if the DVD can be replaced (1mSATA, 2 SATA, 1 SATA in DVD-caddy).

    • Ray Woodcock says:

      I don’t know the answer to that. It doesn’t look very removable. In the first photo above, the DVD drive is in the upper left corner. That is, there is no screw or panel in the back of the computer that I could remove to gain easy access to it. To answer your question, or to do the actual swap, I would have to take out all of the screws that hold the remaining back side of the computer in place. This does not suggest that Acer would have bothered to place the DVD drive in a removable caddy.

      • Drew70 says:

        Just an FYI that after removing the main drive bay/memory cover, there is just one screw anchoring the tab of the optical drive caddy. It’s the screw that is at the top left of the left hand memory slots. You can see the caddy tab just underneath the screw and plastic housing. Remove it and you can just pull the caddy out.

        I intend to leave it unscrewed (the drive won’t easily pop out) and pick up an HDD drive caddy for another Samsung 2TB drive and maybe a bluray drive caddy. This way I can just swap them as needed (with the notebook powered off and battery disconnected of course).

  10. GoogleUser says:

    Thanks for sharing. I was able to add a hard drive to an Acer V3-772G-9460 by purchasing a caddy and screws from eBay. At first, the hard drive did not show up in either BIOS or Windows. On a hunch I updated the BIOS using the download from Acer’s website. The existing version on my laptop was 1.08 and the new version is 1.15. After the update, the hard drive automatically showed up in Windows and everything works fine now.

  11. Hi,
    Great guide – I have the same laptop, and recently installed a 1TB Seagate SSHD (The Hybrid drive) and cloned the drive that was already in the laptop to the SSHD. Strangely, even though I’ve changed boot order to 1) Windows Boot manager 2) Seagate SSHD 3) Old drive , it still refuses to boot up on the new drive, except if I’ve either completely removed the drive, or use f12 and select the new SSHD drive as boot drive. Any idea why that is?

  12. Drew70 says:

    Picked up a V3-772G-9820. Just an FYI that the main drive bay is JUST deep enough to contain Western Digital’s WD20NPVX 2TB 2.5″ drive. I don’t think you really need a bracket because that drive isn’t going anywhere once you install it. The secondary drive bay is way too shallow (so I placed the included 1TB drive in there).

    Three things that annoyed me on the V3-772G were the mSATA and RAM installation and the slash/enter key.
    For the mSATA, I went for broke and picked up a Samsung 840EVO 1TB unit. No screws were included with the notebook to secure it and no screws were included with the mSATA drive itself. I had to improvise and use one of the two screws that secure the 1TB drive bracket to the notebook.
    For the RAM, I purchased Crucial’s 16GB 2x8GB 1600 kit. Unfortunately the left side bracket wouldn’t clip in securely. so I had to swap the memory around, put the 2x8GB in the slots where the 2x4GB were, and put the 2x4GB on top.
    For the keyboard, I’ll have to train myself to reach a little further right to tap the RETURN key. Either that or use a USB keyboard I guess.

    So I’m happy to say that all three drives show up in Windows 7 without issue. 4TB in a notebook, My next project will be to see if I can replace the DVD drive with a bracket or at least a bluray reader, and also finding a cheap duplicate power supply so I can leave one power supply at work and one at home and not have to worry about dragging it along.

    Thanks again for this article. You sold me on this notebook…you should get a discount or gift certificate from Acer.🙂

    • Drew70 says:

      If you feel adventurous, you can buy Seagate’s STDR2000101 2TB portable USB hard drive. This little baby has the standard height Samsung M9T 2TB 2.5″ SATA6 drive inside. There’s a video on youtube (see link below) on how to safely remove it from the external case…BUT your warranty with Seagate will be totally void, so run the drive through its paces before you do this and caveat emptor.

      I plan on installing 2 of these in my V3, one in the secondary drive bay, another in a DVD caddy replacement, to complement my current 1TB Samsung 840EVO mSATA and 2TB WD20NPVX, for a total of 7 TB of storage.😀

  13. Drew70 says:

    Multidisplay support: Something else I found out about the V3-772g-9820 is that it supports having both a VGA and HDMI connected external monitor at the same time as the notebook display itself. So I have my desktop extended over the three displays for a combined 5760×1080 pixels of desktop real estate. Another reason to love this notebook.🙂

  14. Jorge l says:

    Do you find any compatible Bluray Drive that goes with this laptop?

  15. ondrej says:

    Thank you very very much, for this thorough article!

  16. Christophe says:

    That’s really a nice article, thanks for taking the time to write it, even 2 years later it’s still very usefull
    And thanks too to drew70n i’ve never thougth that I can use both VGA and HDMI, now I got a 3 screen display and it’s very usefull

    • Scott says:

      Hey guys. So did anybody ever try the 32gb RAM combination in this computer? I’m now doing much more intensive modeling on this computer and would rather max it out than replace it. Please respond ☺☺☺

  17. Just digged into the matter of the SATA speed of bay ports
    I ADDED a SSD drive (in the emplty bay) aside to the HD that came with the notebook, and look into dmesg, i.e in the boot process of Linux,
    We can see that the bay normally used for the HD is a SATA III 6 Gb,
    The other one (the empty one) is a SATA II 3 Gb. The optical drive is a 1,5 Gb.

    My 2 cents ….

    giuliano@hotbird13:~$ dmesg | grep SATA
    [ 1.877376] ahci 0000:00:1f.2: AHCI 0001.0300 32 slots 4 ports 6 Gbps 0x25 impl SATA mode
    [ 1.909627] ata1: SATA max UDMA/133 abar m2048@0xd361b000 port 0xd361b100 irq 30
    [ 1.909632] ata3: SATA max UDMA/133 abar m2048@0xd361b000 port 0xd361b200 irq 30
    [ 1.909636] ata6: SATA max UDMA/133 abar m2048@0xd361b000 port 0xd361b380 irq 30
    [ 2.227659] ata3: SATA link up 1.5 Gbps (SStatus 113 SControl 300)
    [ 2.227693] ata1: SATA link up 3.0 Gbps (SStatus 123 SControl 300)
    [ 2.231633] ata6: SATA link up 6.0 Gbps (SStatus 133 SControl 300)

    giuliano@hotbird13:~$ dmesg | grep ata
    [ 0.000000] Memory: 16203572K/16654616K available (8394K kernel code, 1282K rwdata, 3944K rodata, 1480K init, 1292K bss, 451044K reserved, 0K cma-reserved)
    [ 0.258037] ACPI : EC: GPE = 0x1d, I/O: command/status = 0x66, data = 0x62
    [ 0.258405] libata version 3.00 loaded.
    [ 1.816505] Write protecting the kernel read-only data: 14336k
    [ 1.909627] ata1: SATA max UDMA/133 abar m2048@0xd361b000 port 0xd361b100 irq 30
    [ 1.909629] ata2: DUMMY
    [ 1.909632] ata3: SATA max UDMA/133 abar m2048@0xd361b000 port 0xd361b200 irq 30
    [ 1.909633] ata4: DUMMY
    [ 1.909634] ata5: DUMMY
    [ 1.909636] ata6: SATA max UDMA/133 abar m2048@0xd361b000 port 0xd361b380 irq 30
    [ 2.227659] ata3: SATA link up 1.5 Gbps (SStatus 113 SControl 300)
    [ 2.227693] ata1: SATA link up 3.0 Gbps (SStatus 123 SControl 300)
    [ 2.229215] ata3.00: ATAPI: MATSHITADVD-RAM UJ8E0, 1.00, max UDMA/133
    [ 2.229333] ata1.00: supports DRM functions and may not be fully accessible
    [ 2.229740] ata1.00: disabling queued TRIM support
    [ 2.229742] ata1.00: ATA-9: Samsung SSD 850 EVO 1TB, EMT02B6Q, max UDMA/133
    [ 2.229743] ata1.00: 1953525168 sectors, multi 1: LBA48 NCQ (depth 31/32), AA
    [ 2.230454] ata3.00: configured for UDMA/133
    [ 2.230459] ata1.00: supports DRM functions and may not be fully accessible
    [ 2.230738] ata1.00: disabling queued TRIM support
    [ 2.231130] ata1.00: configured for UDMA/133
    [ 2.231633] ata6: SATA link up 6.0 Gbps (SStatus 133 SControl 300)
    [ 2.232229] ata6.00: ATA-9: WDC WD10JPVX-22JC3T0, 01.01A01, max UDMA/133
    [ 2.232232] ata6.00: 1953525168 sectors, multi 0: LBA48 NCQ (depth 31/32), AA
    [ 2.232799] ata6.00: configured for UDMA/133
    [ 20.116157] EXT4-fs (sdb6): mounted filesystem with ordered data mode. Opts: (null)

Leave a Reply

