28 Responses to Thunderbird and Hotmail: Sending Password Did Not Succeed, Authentication Failed

  1. A.Mughul says:

    Thank you so much and well done for sorting out this damn issue regarding “authentication failed” for Thunderbird email program on Windows 7. I was facing the very same problem since yesterday when I set up a new password and turned on the “two-step verification” process in my hotmail webpage. “Not realizing that this could be the mother of all evil” Fortunately, today I found the secret behind “Login to server pop3.live.com failed” and guess what I said to myself “after reading your article”….OMG…woohoo! Now my T-Bird is working as good as B4. Thanks again!🙂

  2. E. says:

    Saved my life. Thanks!

  3. Massimo says:

    Thank you! two-step verification was also my problem!

  4. A GUY says:

    I had a similar experience, but I was setting up POP3, I was fighting with it and then I manually configured the servers names to match some responses I’ve Seen online, so after I did that, thunderbird tried to log in and it gave me a message that POP3 could not log in because the POP3 option was not turned on in my hotmail options… So GO FIGURE you have to turn POP3 option on within Hotmail to make it work, after I did this it picked up quick… Also I noticed that IMAP did took the info I was sending from the very beginning. But POP3 did not.. SO I HOPE this helps somebody that runs into the issue that the USR name and PSSW is wrong message while setting POP3 for Hotmail using Thunderbird.

  5. Lucas says:

    Thanks for your last paragraph.
    You solved the problem.
    I will translate and publish it in portuguese.
    Lucas from Brazil.

  6. Ravi says:

    Disabling 2 step verification worked. Go to the settings icon (shaped like a gear) > Account Details > Edit security info > Turn off two-step verification. Suggestion from A GUT

  7. Steve says:

    Thank you so much for posting this – I have been searching for the answer for days! Obvious now I know the answer

  8. M Leahy says:

    It solved my problem too Plus It fixed my issue with Office Outlook 2007 not connecting

  9. DJR says:

    YOUR MY HERO!!!!

  10. Vero says:

    YOU are the man! Thank you so much for this post!

  11. Ray says:

    To all who disabled 2-step verification. This was not necessary. This could make your Hotmail account vulnerable in case your account gets hacked. You can solve this issue by paging down a bit past where you enable or disable 2-step verification in the Hotmail setting and setup an “APPLICATION SPECIFIC PASSWORD”. This is an alternate password that is created in Hotmail to be recognized as the password to be used in Thunderbird or any external application instead of your actual Hotmail password that would is used on the webmail. By creating this application specific password you can leave the 2-step verification process in Hotmail enabled for security purposes.

    • Ray Woodcock says:

      For some reason, I’m not seeing that “Application Specific Password” option in my case.

      • Ray says:

        Log into Hotmail, click the gear symbol in the top right hand corner, click “options” in the drop down box, select “Account Details (passwords, addresses, timezones), select “Security and Password”, scroll down the page until you see “App Passwords”, then select “Create a new app password”, cut and paste that password to the clipboard and the paste when you login to Thunderbird when it asks for the password. Let me know if this helps.

  12. Stef says:

    Merci beaucoup ! En plus je cherchais cette option depuis très longtemps…
    Thanks m8

  13. Hibbibri says:

    Thank you very much!!!!!! This was driving me nuts but two-step verification was also my problem!
    All sorted now thanks to you

  14. Aoife says:

    Thank you so so so so much. This worked! So delighted.

  15. Shen says:

    I don’t have 2step setup. What I ends up doing is go to “Check Recent Activity”, and confirm the ip address by saying ‘It was me’.

  16. arwintcher says:

    I just found this post while trying to figure this out. You’re right that it was a factor of using two step verification. But rather than simply turning this off, you can set up an app-specific password for your email client: http://windows.microsoft.com/en-gb/windows/app-passwords-two-step-verification

  17. linda says:

    hi, this is to the writer..
    Would you please let us know how to find the place where those settings can be changed? I am asking because nowadays (nov 2015) the entire hotmail layout was changed, making it incredibly difficult to find anything at all.

    Your article sure seems to tackle a problem i’ve been struggling with for almost a year by now- can’t wait to try it out!


  18. Helen Booth says:

    thanks for figuring this out

  19. Christine says:

    Hi people, after 3 years, hot mail decides to stop delivering to thunderbird. I have just sorted out my problem of thunderbird not receiving mesages from hotmail. I found in outlook mail security settings that pop was not selected. I did not select (imap) no to pop
    so who or what changed it cos as said it wernt me. I now am recieving mail from… hotlook, outmail, outlook, hotmail, into thunderbird inbox. God bless you all, the earth is flat, check Eric Dubay and Jeranisim on Youtube

  20. Carlo says:

    Thank you very much! Finally I have found the issue with my Microsoft email account.
    Today I have changed password, pop server, set and then turn off two-step verification, but nothing has solved the problem started just few days ago.
    Now after your post, I have checked in the Microsoft Outlook mail account (Options – Mail – Accounts – POP and IMAP) and I have found that the use of POP had been prohibited to devices and apps, so I have changed it and saved and soon my Thunderbird mail client started receiving all mails.
    Hope this may help others that are facing the same problem.

  21. Duvessa says:

    I’m trying to follow the directions here but am a little confused. I am seeing an “add send & receive account”…but it is tied to outlook, not specifically thunderbird (which is what I’m using) will that still fix the problem, or am I effectively switching delivery systems if I do that? thank you!

    • Ray Woodcock says:

      Hi, Duvessa — I’m sorry — my system and I are not in a condition to research that for you, and unfortunately it’s been a long time since I wrote this, so I don’t have it fresh in mind. All I can suggest is, make an image of your system before you proceed, using a tool like Macrium or AOMEI, and then try what seems best, and if that doesn’t work, restore your image and try something else.

Leave a Reply

