A Two-Hour Runaround: Netgear Router Setup, Password Grayed, and the “High Traffic” Warning

I was using Windows 7 on a laptop. I bought a Netgear N300 Wireless Router. I had some problems with setup. This post provides my story and some links that others may find helpful.

For those looking for the short answer to the “High Traffic” pop-up bubble message, the solution seems to be this: go into the Netgear Genie app > Internet button at left > uncheck the High Traffic Threshold box at bottom.

* * * * *

I was very pleased to get the router for only $39.99, at least in theory; the actual cash register price was $44.97, resulting in a complaint to Walmart and pretty much setting the tone for the ordeal to come.


Walmart Router Price3

I thought N300 was the model number — that’s what I entered in Netgear’s webpage when searching for the right model — but that was mistaken, and the search failed. As it turned out, the model was WNR2000-100NAS (according to the sticker on the side of the box) or WNR2000 v4 (according to the webpage) or just plain WNR2000 (per the Data Sheet). Its UPC, at least, appeared uncontested: 606449059151.

I didn’t take notes at the start, so I wasn’t able to reconstruct the earliest stages of my attempts to set up and use the modem. Generally, though, the Installation Guide was helpful. It was a two-page PDF that basically told me to unplug the modem; connect the Ethernet cable between modem and router; plug in and turn on the modem, and then wait two minutes for it to get up and running; connect the router’s power adapter; run an Ethernet cable from the router to the computer; and then go into a web browser and go to http://routerlogin.net. (It turned out that routerlogin.com also worked.)

As I recall, my first setup attempt failed. For some reason, I had to disconnect and shut down all of the above — i.e., modem, router, computer — and then try again by reconnecting and repowering those devices, in that order.

I think I did that in connection with the attempt to get a fresh IP address from the DHCP server. I think I needed that because, somewhere along the way, someone told me to go to, or something like that, and it wasn’t working as expected, and someone said a fresh IP address would fix everything. As often happens, shutting down and starting over did seem to help.

The story told in this post was mostly concerned with my effort to configure the router. Let me begin the saga by introducing the transcript that resulted when I went to Netgear’s Contact Us page and chose their chat option. I spent more than two hours developing that transcript, and I don’t want it to go to waste. So, as I say, I have decided to present it here, in full, with commentary, for future reference.

You don’t have to read all this; it’s here primarily to entertain those with nothing better to do, and also for those who would like to be forewarned, so as to avoid their own two-hour chats with people like Alfred at places like Netgear.

Our two-hour chat began after another half-hour wait, which Netgear’s Chat page originally estimated would be only about three minutes. I got tired of waiting and did something else; and when I came back, they had answered and I wasn’t there, so they disconnected. So I had to start that over again and wait another 25 minutes or so.

And then we were off and running! Although not actually running. My chat partner Alfred was probably handling several chats at once, so I had long delays — note that Netgear got wise and removed the time-of-day indicators that used to be common on chat pages, so you cannot see how bad the delays were.

Alfred (referred to here as AJ) spent the first half-hour leading me around around in a big circle, with the requisite delays after my responses:


Status: Connected

Alfred John (Listening)

AJ: Thank you for choosing NETGEAR.

AJ: My name is Alfred with Expert ID 46208. How may I assist you today?

ME: Hi, Alfred. I am using a Netgear N300 router. Netgear Genie gives me “high traffic” warnings. What are these, how can I prevent them, and why isn’t this information in the Netgear Genie user’s manual?

AJ: I see, thank you.

AJ: May I know where did you saw this “high traffic” warnings?

ME: Balloon popped up in bottom right corner of screen, near system tray. Windows 7.

AJ: Thank you.

AJ: As I understand, you want to know what are these high traffic warnings, is that correct?

ME: I suppose they require you to ask that sort of thing, but my original note is clear enough.

AJ: Okay, thank you.

AJ: By the way, in case we lose connection please do not close your chat window, wait for two minutes for your Internet connection to be restored. In case the chat session is completely disconnected, please request a new session and reference your Customer ID 28811251. I apologize in advance for any inconvenience.

AJ:  I will be glad to assist you today, before we proceed, Mr. Woodcock, I see that you already have an Email on file, may I have you verify your phone number and  Zip code please?

ME: My phone number? I don’t believe I provided that.  At least not recently. My zip code may have changed: are you looking at today’s registration, or an older one?

AJ: What I mean is, may I have your hone number and  Zip code please for proper documentation?

ME: Again. I have moved. If you are looking at an old registration, its zip code will not be accurate. If you are looking at the data I provided today to register this product, you will not see a phone number or zip code, because I think all I provided is my email address.

AJ: I see, thank you for that information.

ME: Or, wait, I think I understand. You just want something for today’s records. My zip code is *****. I’d rather not provide my phone number.

AJ: Okay, I understand, thank you.

AJ: May I know where did you purchase the device?

ME: Walmart.

AJ: Thank you for that information.

AJ: Please be informed that your WNR2000v4 has 90 days of Support Warranty and a limited lifetime of Hardware Warranty from the date of purchase, which was on October 31, 2014.

AJ: Let us proceed.

AJ: May I put you on hold for 2 to 3 minutes so that I can check on my resources about your device?

ME: Sure.

AJ: Thank you so much.

AJ: Thank you for patiently waiting.

So there. Let it not be said that nothing can be accomplished in a half-hour. For one thing, I was closer to forming the conclusion that AJ was still polishing the fine points of his English.

I did wish that I had been dealing with a different tech support arrangement, because while I was pissing away the afternoon on this chat, I swapped several emails with Medialink on the old router being replaced. Medialink did not provide an easy-to-find tech support link. But once I found their email address (on the last page of their FAQs PDF), I sent them a message — and Jim, their tech support person, got right to the issue.

AJ: If I may ask, how many devices are connected wired or wireless to the Netgear router?

ME: Two laptops.

AJ: Thank you.

AJ: Are there devices connected wired to the router?

ME: They are wired. I have the wireless turned off.

AJ: I see, thank you.

AJ: Do you see these high traffic warnings on both computers?

ME: I think I had already turned off the other machine. I only saw it on this one.

AJ: Okay, thank you.

AJ: Let us access the admin page of the router.

ME: Waiting.

ME: Instructions?

AJ: Okay, sorry.

AJ: Are you now on the Netgear genie?

ME: Yes.

AJ: Thank you.

AJ: Please go to basic tab>>attached devices.

ME: Sorry, I don’t see that option.

AJ: May I know what do you see on the page?

ME: Netgear Genie. Various buttons down the left side. Home, Internet, WiFi Connection, etc.

ME: I’m talking about the installed Genie. Are you talking about the webpage?

AJ: The admin page of the router.

ME: I’m lost.

AJ: Okay, pease open an Internet browser and on the address bar type in   http://www.routerlogin.com then hit enter.

AJ: The username will be admin and password is password.

That username and password would raise another issue. But we weren’t there yet. At this point, when AJ referred to the Genie, I thought he meant the tool that I had downloaded from Netgear’s website and had installed. This was a handy little application that provided the same functionality as the usual router webpage. Actually, it provided better functionality. It was linked to an icon in the Taskbar, shaped like the magical lamp that the genie comes out of.


But it seemed that AJ was not familiar with the downloaded app. When he referred to Genie, he meant the page that came up at routerlogin.com. I was glad he mentioned that, because I had a complaint about that webpage:

ME: I tried that before. It didn’t work. I entered the username and password shown on the router itself. I’ll try it using what you say. But this is not Netgear Genie.

AJ: I see, thank you.

ME: OK, I see there is a Netgear Genie page there too. But this is not the Netgear Genie program I downloaded and installed from Netgear.com.

ME: Basic tab. Attached devices. It only shows the laptop I’m using now.

ME: Not as informative as the Network Map in the downloaded program.

AJ: I see, thank you so much for that information.

AJ: How about on the wireless side, are there something on the list?

ME:  Not sure what you mean. There’s no list. Just wireless settings.

ME: Sorry, I think you meant on the Attached devices page. I went to the Wireless page. On the Attached devices page, there is nothing beyond what I told you already.

AJ: Yes, thank you.

AJ: Can you please give me 2 to 3 minutes while I confirm an information?


AJ: Thank you.

AJ was now on his second departure of several minutes. This time he wanted to confirm an information. And it was good that he did, because he came back with a confirmation that was not only useless but, simple as it was, would soon turn out to be something that he had not actually confirmed:

AJ: Thank you for patiently waiting.

AJ: Sorry for the delay.

AJ: Please be informed that I have confirmed that the high traffic warnings that you see on the computer simply means that the computer you are using has a lot of Internet activity.

ME: How can I turn off those messages?

AJ: I see, I do apologize for this is already beyond of our support scope, I would suggest to contact the manufacturer of the computer  and ask for assistance in turning off the notifications.

AJ: Would that be okay?

So, wow, I mean, not to be sarcastic, but taking the better part of an hour to confirm that a bubble message referring to “high traffic” would mean that my computer “has a lot of Internet activity” — well, should that not get an award of some kind?

And then, as just indicated, I posed the second of the three questions I had presented at the very start of the chat: how do I turn off these messages? At that, AJ swiftly provided the most established of tech support answers: go bother someone else.

Which is to say, he did not know the answer. It seemed I had stumbled into an original contribution to knowledge — sort of like a PhD dissertation, but without all the academic hassle.

But I was not so easily gotten rid of. I had my own background of experience in handling tech support calls, from the user’s side of the table, and I knew a thing or two about keeping the conversation alive:

ME: It is not an issue of my computer. The messages are triggered by Netgear software. They did not appear until I purchased and connected this Netgear product today.

ME: They are not Windows messages.

ME: They appear in a rounded little bubble. I have never seen that kind of bubble on this machine until today.

ME: I have been using this computer for a year.

AJ: I see, thank you.

AJ: Can you please send me a screenshot about this logo?

ME: It is not a logo. The message is not recurring now.

AJ: I see, thank you.

Score: Ray 1, AJ 0. And since it seemed that AJ’s story might not be holding together, I went for bonus points:

ME: And why are you asking me to send you an image of the message? You have already told me that you confirmed that it “simply means that the computer you are using has a lot of Internet activity.” Did you not know what I was talking about?

AJ: Thank you, just to make sure I have the right information about this message appearing on the computer.

AJ: If I may ask, do you see the Netgear Genie logo on the system tray?

ME: Well, whatever information you had when you answered that previous question has not changed. We are still talking about the message you were discussing then.

ME: Yes.

AJ: I see, thank you.

AJ: Is this the one you are referring, on where the message appears?

ME: What?

I must say that AJ was hanging in there. I was somewhat irritated, and he was remaining very professional, keeping his eye on the ball. I give him that. The ball he had his eye on might not have been the one in play on my field, but let’s not debate the fine points. The fact is, he was providing excellent tech support, as they apparently define it at Netgear.

Now AJ had raised another question, with his statement (above) that I could get into the router’s admin page by using “admin” as the user and “password” as the password:

AJ: Sorry, what I mean is, is this the rounded bubble that you are referring to?

ME: I have another question. If admin – password works to get into my router at any time, is my security compromised for anyone who knows those words?

ME: I don’t understand your question. I started this chat an hour ago with a set of simple questions. Those are my questions. They have not changed.

ME: This new question about the password arises from information you have provided in this chat.

Communication with the Oracle RightNow CX Cloud Service Chat service has been lost.  Please wait while attempts are made to restore the connection.

Disconnection in 240 seconds.

Connection resumed.

ME: Are you still there?

Communication with the Oracle RightNow CX Cloud Service Chat service has been lost.  Please wait while attempts are made to restore the connection.

Disconnection in 240 seconds.

Connection resumed.

Communication with the Oracle RightNow CX Cloud Service Chat service has been lost.  Please wait while attempts are made to restore the connection.

Disconnection in 240 seconds.

Connection resumed.

AJ: Yes.

I was ever so glad that Netgear’s chat did not lose everything that we had debated so far because, despite all the fun we were having, I really did not want to have to go through it again with someone else.

As this was going on, it occurred to me to start up the other laptop and see if I could get it to produce the “high traffic” warning that had prompted this call. That was successful: I got an error when I tried watching an episode of “Star Trek: Enterprise” — almost as if God wished to send me a message about the best use of my time.

Anyway, I edited the screenshot and sent this to AJ via file attachment:


File attachment upload has started.

The file Netgear Genie – High Traffic Bubble.jpg (203.92KB) was received.

ME: I think I have a screenshot of the bubble. Hold on …

AJ: Thank you.

AJ: Wow, good job.

ME: It may occur only once, when the router or Genie is first used? But no, I had it several times, though it doesn’t seem to be recurring on this machine. That is from the other machine.

AJ: Thank you so much for sending the screenshot.

AJ: May I put you on hold for 3 to 5  minutes so that I can test the Netgear Genie application?


AJ: Thank you.

ME: When you get back, please just type instructions to solve this problem. I cannot sit here all afternoon waiting for this chat. I may not come back for a while, and I have already found out that you people disconnect after a few minutes of idle time.

But it turned out that my concern about timing was unnecessary. When AJ returned from this departure, I was still there:

AJ: Thank you for patiently waiting.

ME: The bubble does recur. I got it again on this machine. I ran a different webpage. Netflix triggered it; so does speedtest.com. Possibly it recurs only once per high-traffic website.

AJ: Yes, you are correct.

ME: OK, so how can I turn it off?

AJ: Can you please open the Netgear Genie application?

ME: It’s open.

AJ: Thank you.

AJ: Do you see there Router settings?

ME: Yes.

AJ: Please click it then click Traffic Meter.

ME: I have the Traffic Meter tab selected. It is set to Disable.

AJ: I see, thank you.

AJ and his cronies had discovered the Genie app. They had not yet had time to master it, however. His lead to the Traffic Meter was a false one. That is, in good tech support fashion, we were going to make up an answer as we went along: he and his buddies were going to poke around and invent the answer, and I was going to follow as they led me into various blind alleys.

I had been afraid to fool around with the router on my own. My concept of networking was that, if you don’t know what you’re doing, you can create a mess.

I had searched the router’s documentation for “high traffic,” had found no references, and had thus commenced this chat. But now, as it appeared that Netgear had not even trained its tech support people in the use of its own Genie tool, I realized I was probably going to have to find my own way anyway:

ME: I think what you should be leading me to is the Internet button, “High Traffic Threshold” box. It is checked by default and set to 10 Mbps. I found that while waiting.

ME: My guess is, unchecking the box could be a solution. I would need to think of another high-traffic webpage to test it on.

ME: Setting it to a higher value could also be a solution. Not sure.

ME: I didn’t want to play with it until I knew what it was about, or whether there might be a better way.

AJ: Okay, please uncheck it.

ME: Done. But do you know what it does? Are you sure that is what I should do?

AJ: Yes, if the Internet activity exceeds the specific data, it will show high traffic.

ME: OK. Now, going to my third original question, could you please suggest that this information be included in the Netgear Genie user’s manual, so that other people don’t have to waste an hour to find the answer?

AJ: Sure, we will have your recommendations to our engineers, thank you.

This appeared to be the solution to the “high traffic” bubble message. If you knew where to look, then you could advise people on it, when they called in for tech support. You could even mention it in your documentation.

But now, during the course of this chat, I had become concerned about that admin – password combination for getting into the router’s setup screen. Perhaps like other users, I had tried using the username and password printed on a piece of paper stuck on the side of the router, to get into the Netgear Genie webpage. That had been a mistake. But I was confused as to the reason why — and AJ was there to help me out, in his own circuitous way:

ME: My final question, arising during this chat. If username “admin” and password “password” are sufficient to let anyone into the router, it appears I have no security.

AJ: Yes, when accessing   http://www.routerlogin.com, it should ask the Username and password and the admin and password  are the right credentials to access the admin page of the router.

ME: So anyone can use those credentials to change my settings.

AJ: Yes, however you can change the password.

ME: What is the purpose of the other username and password, the ones printed on the side of the new modem?

AJ: May I know the model number of the  modem?

ME: WNR2000

AJ: Okay, the credentials that you will see on the router itself is either the username and password of the router or the default Wifi name and password of the router.

ME: Do they not allow me to access the router’s admin page?

AJ: Thank you.

AJ: You can access the admin page by using the username admin and password is password, the other one is the default password to connect to the Wifi of the router.

ME: Which page should I use to connect to the Wifi of the router?

AJ: Please be informed that to connect to the Wifi of the router, you just need to scan for Wifi and connect to it using the default password of the router.

ME: Are you talking about the Windows networking dialog that asks for a password?

ME: Correction, for a network security key?

AJ: No, if you computer is wireless capable,  you can refer to this link on how to connect to a wireless network.

AJ:   http://kb.netgear.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/13267/~/adding-a-device-to-your-wireless-network%3A-windows-7-pc

ME: Thank you, but I don’t think I need instructions on how to connect to a wireless network. I’m asking where I am supposed to use the username and password provided on the side of my new Netgear router.

AJ: Okay, thank you.

AJ: To use it, please open an Internet browser and on the address bar type in   http://www.routerlogin.com then hit enter.

ME: That kb.netgear.com webpage does not show where a username would be entered.

I think what AJ meant here was that, if you hook up your Netgear N300 router, and enable its wireless capability, and then go onto your computer and search for wireless networks nearby, you should see NETGEAR28 listed as one of the available networks, and you can log into it using the security key — what the sticker on the side of the router described as the “Network Key (Password)”:

Network Security Key dialog

Of course, if there was another newbie user of this very popular router within wireless range, you could be logging into their NETGEAR28 router rather than your own. But friends share, right?

My error was that I thought I was supposed to enter the name and password (from that sticker on the side of the router) into the Netgear login page. Doing that yielded an error:


For those Googling for guidance, it says, “Access to this resource is denied, your client has not supplied the correct authentication.” My client happened to be me. I think this was Netgear-speak for “wrong username and/or password.”

ME: As for the routerlogin.com page you just gave me, I did try entering the provided username and password there. Unfortunately, I received an Unauthorized error. I will attach the page.

File attachment upload has started.

The file Unauthorized.jpg (27.38KB) was received.

AJ: Thank you.

ME: It appears the router was programmed to accept only the admin – password combination. The sticker on the side of the router, indicating a username and password, appears to have been pointless.

ME: Unless, that is, Netgear intended to allow both admin and non-admin usernames and passwords.

ME: In which case I guess I would have to reset both within the admin login.

So you see: I was confused. Two sets of usernames and passwords, and I had tried the wrong one. We were almost to the point where I would realize that. I saw the sticker on the router and thought that was the username-password combination required by the webpage.

As often happens, I could have resolved that question without taking AJ’s time, simply by searching the User’s Manuals for Netgear Genie and for the router, as well as the Installation Guide. And I would have done that, if the question hadn’t arisen during the actual chat. But my search in those Netgear manuals would have had to be a careful search. I found, later, that “username” did not actually appear in any of those documents. But a “username” was precisely what was requested by Netgear’s router login webpage:


Netgear’s documentation referred instead to “user name,” with a space. I don’t know if that’s an inconsistency that someone at Netgear could have figured out, with years of experience handling thousands of tech support calls. I guess not. So, OK, it seemed that my original research was going to help Netgear find solutions that might elude its outsourced super-low-wage and sometimes outmatched non-native English speakers, like AJ.

Speaking of whom, we were still not quite out of the woods. I was just about to help AJ figure out where, in the Genie app, a person could go to change the preset NETGEAR28 network name and the accompanying password. But first we had to work through some trust issues:

AJ: Okay, may I know what is the indicated username and password at the side of the routr?

AJ: Sorry, what I mean is router.

ME: The username is NETGEAR28. Are you going to be able to use this information to log into my router?

AJ: No, we have no capabilities in doing it.

AJ: Thank you for that information.

ME: Meanwhile, I just checked the admin login. There does not appear to be an option to set separate admin and user passwords. So I am still at a loss as to the purpose of the username and password provided on the side of the router.

ME: Why did you ask for the username printed on the router?

AJ: Please be informed that the NETGEAR28 is the default Wifi name of the router and the password is the default password of the Wifi.

ME: I think you may have said that already. Then I think I asked where I should enter those credentials.

ME: I mean, if they are the “default,” presumably I can change them.

AJ: Yes, you can.

ME: I  found it. It’s in the app, Router Settings button, Wireless Settings tab.

I was under a misimpression about this preset password, printed on the sticker on the side of my router. I thought it was unique to my router. There was, in fact, some unique identifying information on the router’s back panel. But as I was about to discover, the information on this sticker was not unique: apparently it was the same for all N300 routers. And I would later discover that there was information on this point in the manuals; it just didn’t come up in a hasty search for “username”:

ME: OK. That answers that. I believe my last question is the one just asked: Why did you ask me for the username and password printed on the side of my router?

AJ: Thank you.

ME: And, FYI, if not using the Netgear Genie app, the place to change router name and password in the routerlogin.com webpage is at Basic tab, Wireless button.

ME: It would probably be best if your engineers clarified this information as well in the printed material.

AJ: I asked the  username and password printed on the side of my router to confirm the information you are referring to.

ME: How could you confirm that? Do you have a list of each registered user’s default router name and password?

AJ: No, that information is indicated on all of the router as the default Wifi name and password.

ME: OK. Thank you for clarifying. I didn’t realize that.

ME: I guess that had better be changed pretty quickly.

AJ: Yes, I would suggest to change it for security. thank you.

And so, as with all things, the chat would finally end after all.

ME: AJ, thank you for your time.

AJ: You are most welcome, It is my pleasure assisting you.

AJ: For other online support options, such as email, troubleshooting steps and NETGEAR related topics, please visit support.netgear.com.

AJ: Mr. Woodcock, I am going to close this case, shortly thereafter you will receive a survey. Please rate the service and support I had provided you today. Again, please take note of your Customer ID . Would there be anything else that I can assist you with today?

That was the end of our chat. Now the only thing left was to take the Netgear survey AJ had mentioned. I gave AJ mixed reviews — high on professionalism, mediocre at bullshitting the customer when he really had no idea of what he was saying. I included a link to this post in the Comment area, so that perhaps some bored person at Netgear would someday find his/her way here, enjoy a little entertainment, and perhaps read this post carefully enough to realize that their tech support was a cluster. Perhaps.


Soon I saw that I had another problem. As noted above, I wanted to change the username and password on the Netgear Genie interface between my computer and my router. The problem was that my computer did not allow me to do that. Here is how the interface should have looked:

Netgear Interface - Good

Clear enough: I logged in (using the admin – password combination for username and password) and then went to Advanced tab > Administration > Set Password. There, I saw the several boxes shown above, allowing me to state my old password and indicate my new password.

But that is not what I got when I looked at the same page on the other computer. Instead, I got this:

Netgear Interface - Bad

Nothing there! No options. Same thing if I clicked on other options under Administration (e.g.,  Backup Settings): all grayed out. Same router, two computers, two different results.

To resolve this problem, I tried calling an 800 (actually, 866) number (866-283-6613) that came up in response to a search for Netgear tech support. This organization (netgearrouterhelp.com) offered free assistance. “Jessica” (with an Indian accent) wanted permission to access my router and see what the problem was. I told her that there did not seem to be a problem with the router, but rather with the interface. She insisted on accessing the router anyway. Since the thing was actually working right now — which it had not been doing shortly before, having been losing and then recovering its wired Internet connection over the past several hours — I was not inclined to let Jessica mess with it. I repeatedly explained what I just said, and eventually realized that messing with the router was probably the only thing that she was allowed and/or able to do. I asked for her supervisor. She said I could reach her supervisor at 855-776-7233.

I thought that calling her supervisor might involve more delay, as I dealt with someone who probably would not have any idea why I was having such a weird problem. So I tried the Chat line again. I reasoned that I would be able to upload, to them, the images shown above, so as to explain the problem. This time, I was number 17 in the Chat queue. They estimated a wait of only 11 minutes. That was at 2:10 PM. At 2:21 PM, when the 11 minutes were up, I was number 8. I was number 5 at 2:29 PM, having waited 19 minutes. At that time, they were telling me, “The average amount of time a customer has to wait is 9:20” — and that time value was changing every minute or two, supposedly reflecting a current update. They finally assigned me to an agent, Angelo, at 2:38 PM, after a wait of 28 minutes. At that point they were telling me that the average wait was 12:11.

I was less patient on this chat. Here is the transcript:


Status: Connected

Angelo (Responding)

Angelo: Thank you for choosing NETGEAR.

Angelo: My name is Angelo with Expert ID 46453. How may I assist you today?

ME: Hi, Angelo. I am attempting to change the password on my router. If I go into routerlogin.com on one computer connected to this router, and choose Advanced tab > Administration > Set Password, I get the expected questions: Old Password, New Password, etc. But if I go to the same webpage on another computer connected to the same router (a Netgear N300), I get no options. I am attaching a file to illustrate this.

File attachment upload has started.

The file Netgear Interface – Bad.jpg (109.15KB) was received.

Angelo: I see. Thank you very much.

Angelo: As I understand, you were unable to change the router’s password, is that correct?

ME: Yes or no, depending on which computer I use.

Angelo: Okay, thank you very much.

Angelo: In case we lose connection please do not close your chat window, wait for two minutes for your internet connection to be restored. In case the chat session is completely disconnected, please request a new session and reference your Customer ID 28811251. I apologize in advance for any inconvenience.


Angelo: I will be glad to assist you today, before we proceed, Mr. Woodcock, I see that you already have a Phone number, Email, Zip Code on file, may I have you verify your Email please?

ME: [email]

Angelo: Thank you very much, Mr. Woodcock.

Angelo: Please be informed that your WNR2000v4 has 90 days of Support Warranty and Limited lifetime Hardware Warranty from the date of purchase, which was on October 31, 2014.

Angelo: Going back to your case.

Angelo: Please open up a browser and type in the address bar routerlogin.net or

ME: Are you trying to get me to the webpage shown in the image I sent you?

ME: I’m already there.

Angelo: Yes.

Angelo: May you try another browser? Please clear the cache or the history of your browsers.

ME: I have tried Chrome and Firefox. Same results.

Angelo:  Please clear the cache or the history of your browsers.

ME: Could we please skip that step and go to the next one?  That is never the problem.

Angelo: With regard to that, Mr. Woodcock, it could be the browser settings. Can you please clear the cache or the history of your browsers>

Angelo: ?

ME: No.

Angelo: Just to further isolate this case.

ME: As I say, that is never the problem.

Angelo: We will not be able to isolate this case, Mr. Woodcock.

ME: I have been using computers for 30 years, and have been on the web nearly from its beginning. That has not been the problem for me in ten years.

ME: No. Please take me to the next step. I am not willing to lose all of my accumulated history for nothing.

Angelo: I understand, Mr. Woodcock, however, to further isolate this case, please clear the history of your browser.

ME: Please explain how the browser history or cache would have any impact on this problem.

ME: I am using the identical browser on both machines. Exactly identical: it is portable Firefox. All files are identical. It is not a browser problem.

Angelo: There may be a chance that the history of the browsers will affect the setting of the router. Some settings might not show up.

ME: If it affects the router, it will appear on the other computer. I am attaching a file showing that computer’s interface. It is fine.

File attachment upload has started.

The file Netgear Interface – Good.jpg (134.62KB) was received.

Angelo: Thank you.

Angelo: I understand. May we try it just one browser and please clear the cache of the browser? Just to further isolate this case. If it will still not work, we will proceed to the next step. We may need to follow the process, Mr. Woodcock, I appreciate your patience and cooperation.

ME: You do not appear to understand what it means to isolate a case. The concept is to rule out possible problems. We can begin by ruling out other possible problems. I insist.

Angelo: I understand.

Angelo: Do you have a wireless device that is connected to the router?

ME: No.

Angelo: I see, thank you.

ME: Both computers are connected via Ethernet cable.

Angelo: I see. Thank you.

Angelo: The options that we have right now is using a wireless device that is connected to the router deleting the cache or the history of the browsers. The last option would be resetting the router.

ME: Why would I reset the router? I am able to change its settings on the other computer.

ME: I do not think you have read what I have told you about the problem.

Angelo: I saw the screenshot that you have sent me.

ME: I sent two screenshots.

ME: I also sent a written explanation.

Angelo: Yes, I saw it.

Angelo: Were you now able to change it?

ME: I am waiting for your explanation of how the browser history would affect two different browsers simultaneously on one computer, and neither browser on the other computer.

Angelo: Okay, thank you. Good to know you have asked.

ME: That sounds sarcastic.

ME: You are the one issuing the commands. I am asking for an explanation. It appears you do not know why I should flush the cache.

Angelo: I do not mean anything against you, Mr. Woodcock.

Angelo: Do not worry, I will provide you the answer.

ME: I understand that you have your instructions. But I do not want to lose my browser history for nothing, and that’s always what it is. If I understood the reason for that effort, that would be fine. But I am not going to do it without a reason.

Angelo: Please give me a minute, I will provide you the answer. We have already encountered same case.


Angelo: That is fine. Thank you very much for your patience.

Angelo: We have already encountered same case, Mr. Woodcock, there are times that we could not change the settings on the router and some would not appear. Chances are the history may be ruling over the router’s page. One way to isolate this case is by deleting the cache or the history of the browsers or using a different computer that is connected to the router.

There are times that when you access routerlogin.net or typing, you get many search results instead of getting the Authentication required for the username and password.

ME: I understand that is one way of reducing the number of variables. It does not explain why I would be having the same problem with two different browsers simultaneously. I don’t understand your latter comment. Going to routerlogin.net has nothing to do with search results.

Angelo: The browser could have higher security that is blocking you to change the settings on the router.

ME: So why not just change the browser’s security settings?

Angelo: By deleting the cache or the history of the browser will let you change the settings on the router.

Angelo: I understand, Mr. Woodcock, however, I was amazed, you are truly wonderful because you were able to explore the settings of your router. You were able to setup the router and make it work.

ME: Hold on.

Angelo: Okay, thank you.

Angelo: At some point you made me smile because you were able to change the password of the router.

ME: I don’t understand your comments. I was able to change it on one computer and not on the other.

Angelo: I see. Thank you.

ME: The problem has been resolved. It had nothing to do with the cache or history. I did not clear anything. Previously, I could not access the password, as shown in the screenshot I sent you. Now the browsers all show me the password reset options.

Angelo: That is one way of isolating the case by using a different computer that is connected to the router.

Angelo: The computer has Firewall and Anti-virus that could block the activity on the router.

Angelo: It is not applicable on all computers.

ME: There are two variables. One is that I logged in using Internet Explorer. I had not previously used IE to connect to routerlogin.net. The other is that I tried routerlogin.net this time, instead of routerlogin.com.

ME: Your comments about firewall and antivirus are irrelevant.

Angelo: I understand.

ME: I don’t know whether a try on IE, before retrying on Chrome and Firefox, could somehow make a difference. But those are the only variables I can think of.

ME: The problem is mysteriously resolved.

ME: Have a nice day.

I realized that Angelo probably had to suck up to me for fear of getting bad marks and losing his job. He wasn’t trying to bullshit me as AJ had seemed to do. He was just following his script, which is probably what they required him to do, and probably all he knew. I was rather terse with him because I knew I would be posting the transcript here; I just wanted to cut to the chase. And because I had spent enough hours on chats with Netgear tech support. The chat ended at 3:21 PM, for an additional investment of 71 minutes.

As far as I could tell, I had solved the problem myself. I labeled this section of this post “Epilogue” in hopes that this would be the end of Netgear router problems.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

