Making Thunderbird Portable the Default Email Client

I was using Windows 7. While browsing online, I clicked an email (i.e., mailto) link. I got this error:

Could not perform this operation because the default mail client is not properly installed.

A search indicated that there were only a few sources of information specific to the portable version of Thunderbird. The Mozilla page offered a reminder that I could set Thunderbird Portable to check whether it was the default email client. To do that, I had to go into Tools > Options > Advanced icon (not Advanced tab) > General icon. Mine wasn’t checked. That might have resolved it for me.

But I didn’t get that Mozilla page when I first searched, so instead I found another way that may be useful in some situations. Another Mozilla page pointed me to a registry location where there was supposed to be a mailto entry. Using the Regedit program available in Windows 7, I found that there was no such entry on my computer. I developed a .reg file that added that mailto entry. Once I ran that .reg file, the mailto entry was present in my registry, and clicking on the mailto link on a webpage did open a blank Thunderbird email message, ready to be written and sent. The .reg file read as follows:

Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00
[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\mailto] @="Thunderbird URL" "EditFlags"=dword:00000002 "FriendlyTypeName"="Thunderbird URL" "URL Protocol"=""
[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\mailto\DefaultIcon] @="D:\\Miscellany\\ThunderbirdPortable\\ThunderbirdPortable.exe,0"
[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\mailto\shell] @="open"
[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\mailto\shell\open\command] @="\"D:\\Miscellany\\ThunderbirdPortable\\ThunderbirdPortable.exe\" -osint -compose \"%1\""

To create and run that .reg file, all I had to do was to copy that code, paste it into Notepad, save it with a name like “Add Thunderbird Portable as Default Email Client.reg,” and then double-click on that .reg file in Windows Explorer to run it. Note that the path to ThunderbirdPortable.exe will depend on where you’ve put it and what you’ve named it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

