Installing Wine in Linux Mint 17.3 KDE — Long Version

As detailed in another post, I was trying to get a Windows program to work in Linux Mint 17.3 KDE. This post describes the steps I took to install Wine for that purpose. The “What Worked” section indicates what worked for me. The final section of this post addressed the question of why my Wine installation did not want to run a Windows program that others reported being able to run via Wine.

First Try

I started with Synaptic Package Manager. It was already installed on this Linux machine. I went into Synaptic, clicked the Reload button, and searched for Wine there. The latest available version shown there was 1.6, whereas WineHQ said its latest stable version was 1.8.2. It seemed that, at least in this case, the packages available on Synaptic lagged behind those available at WineHQ.

Based on various sources that had told me the development release (at this point, 1.9.9) was actually quite stable, I used the WineHQ instructions (echoed in AskUbuntu), as follows. First, I ran these commands, one at a time:

sudo dpkg --add-architecture i386 
sudo add-apt-repository ppa:wine/wine-builds
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install --install-recommends winehq-devel

When those were done, I went into Synaptic and saw that wine-devel version 1.9.9 was now installed. I marked winetricks for installation as well, and clicked Apply. That added a Recently Installed item for Winetricks to the Applications Menu (i.e., what a Windows user would call the Start Menu). For some reason, Wine itself did not yet appear in the AppMenu. Next, in Terminal, I typed “winecfg.” That produced a message:

Wine Mono Installer

Wine could not find a Mono package which is needed for .NET applications to work correctly. Wine can automatically download and install it for you.

Note: it is recommended to use our distribution’s packages instead. See for details.

That message was followed by a similar one referring to Gecko. Ghacks advised that the response here, for Mint, was to follow the Mono installation guide. That guide called for these commands:

sudo apt-key adv --keyserver hkp:// --recv-keys 3FA7E0328081BFF6A14DA29AA6A19B38D3D831EF
echo "deb wheezy main" | sudo tee /etc/apt/sources.list.d/mono-xamarin.list
sudo apt-get update
echo "deb wheezy-apache24-compat main" | sudo tee -a /etc/apt/sources.list.d/mono-xamarin.list

The Mono guide further stated that several additional packages should be installed: mono-devel, mono-complete, referenceassemblies-pcl, and ca-certificates-mono. I went into Synaptic, clicked Reload, searched for and marked the first three for installation, saw that they had included ca-certificates-mono, and clicked Apply. I skipped the guide’s advice to create and run several test programs, figuring that I would find out soon enough whether Wine was working.

I tried “winecfg” again in Terminal. I expected to get at least an error message referring to Gecko, but there was no error: I just got the Wine Configuration dialog. I checked in Synaptic: I did have gecko-mediaplayer installed, but not wine-gecko. A Linux Mint Community webpage for wine-gecko explained, “This package is to ease upgrades for users of earlier wine packages. it can be safely removed.” But I saw that 1 2 others reported receiving continuing error messages about Gecko. WineHQ itself did not seem to consider Gecko outdated. Based on the Linux Mint Community remarks, I decided it would probably not hurt to go ahead and install wine-gecko in Synaptic, so I did.

Test Run

Now it was time to try Wine on the Windows executable (.exe or .msi) program that I wanted to run. As described in the other post, I had shortened the name of this file to DWP.exe (short for the Olympus Digital Wave Player program). I navigated to DWP.exe in Dolphin (the default file manager in KDE) and used right-click > Open With > Wine Windows Program Loader. That effort failed with this message:


The Digital Wave Player is not installed.

Please install the Digital Wave Player and reopen this application.

In Terminal, I typed “cd /home/ray/Desktop” (case-specific). Now I had the Desktop prompt. A search led to the suggestion that I try “wine DWP.exe.” This repeated the error message just quoted, but it provided details. The command line error messages were:

fixme:ntdll:NtLockFile I/O completion on lock not implemented yet

err:ole:ClientIdentity_QueryMultipleInterfaces IRemUnknown_RemQueryInterface failed with error 0x80004002

Later, when I returned to Terminal, I saw that there were additional errors. But I wasn’t sure I needed to worry about those. A search on the first of the two errors just quoted led to (as I understood it) the possibility that this problem could arise from a bug newly introduced in a later version of Wine. A fairly recent discussion indicated that the first of those two messages meant approximately what it said: a certain program or feature was not yet implemented in Wine.

If that was the problem, then it seemed that maybe I should have chosen the stable version of Wine rather than the development version. I had no better explanation, so it seemed the next step would be to dial it back to stable version 1.8.2. The question was, how could I do that?

Dialing It Back

To undo the problem, I started with Synaptic: I searched for “wine” and marked for removal all programs referring to “wine-devel.” Four programs were affected: wine-devel, wine-devel-amd64, wine-devel-i386:i386, and winehq-devel. It had belatedly appeared that I might have installed the wrong version of Winetricks, so I uninstalled that too.

Next, as shown in the commands above, I had used the wine/wine-builds Personal Package Archive (PPA, i.e., software repository), but now people seemed to be saying that I should have used ubuntu-wine/ppa. I wasn’t sure it made any difference, but it seemed I probably should try to clean up as many of my mistakes as I could.

There was some confusion, though, in the matter of removing PPAs. SoftwareTalk said that doing so would require manual deletion of the file defining the PPA. Another concept, or possibly the same concept in different terms, involved purging the PPA. A search led to the claim, “If you have upgraded software using ppa you can downgrade it by using ppa-purge.” These seemed to be the recommended commands:

sudo apt-get install ppa-purge
sudo ppa-purge ppa:wine/wine-builds

The source said, “This will automatically downgrade the software to its original version which shipped with Ubuntu.” (See also Various remarks left me with the sense that this would apply to Mint as well. The idea was that I had used wine/wine-builds to install unwanted (wine-devel) software; I had removed that unwanted software; and now I was going to remove wine/wine-builds. So I tried those commands. They both seemed to work; the second ended with, “PPA purged successfully.” Now, as advised, I ran these commands to add the Ubuntu PPA and install the latest stable version of Wine:

sudo add-apt-repository ppa:ubuntu-wine/ppa -y
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install wine

Those all seemed to run successfully. When they were done, I looked in Synaptic, and also in Start > System Settings > Software Sources, to see what I had accomplished. The latter displayed both PPAs, and their accompanying source code PPAs, but the wine/wine-builds PPAs had been unchecked. I selected and removed them. In Synaptic, a search for “wine” seemed to indicate that I had installed version 1.6, even though version 1.8 was listed as being available. That was puzzling, but I left it alone for now. I added winetricks back to the mix. This time, I did have a Wine submenu in KDE’s Applications menu.

Trying Again

I hoped, now, that Wine would work as desired. Once again, then, I navigated in Dolphin to the Desktop > DWP.exe > right-click > Open With > Wine Windows Program Loader. This produced the same message as above: “Wine could not find a Mono package . . . .” I closed that and repeated the steps for Mono and Gecko, not really knowing why those were not still installed, as I had not uninstalled them. Synaptic was reporting no broken packages, and I was now seeing that it was reporting mono-devel, mono-complete, referenceassemblies-pcl, and ca-certificates-mono as still being installed.

Unfortunately, my retry efforts did not seem to have fixed anything: I still got the same error: “The Digital Wave Player is not installed.” When I tried it from the command line, however, using “wine DWP.exe,” the first error message was different from the previous try:

fixme:ole:RemUnknown_QueryInterface No interface for iid {00000019-0000-0000-c000-000000000046}

To my surprise, a search turned up numerous hits with that error message. A look at a half-dozen did not yield any ready solutions for me.

I decided that I might have messed up my system, and that a fresh start might be best. And since I might have to start over more than once, with this or other Linux programs, I decided this might be a good time to start running Linux in a copy of a virtual machine (VM). That way, if I screwed up the system, I could just delete that VM and try again on another copy. Another post describes the steps I took to get KDE running in a VM. Unless otherwise indicated, the following explorations took place in copies of that VM.

An Approach That Seemed to Work

It appeared that I might not be finding the right instructions for the task. A search led to Linux Mint instructions that required the following commands for installing the stable version of Wine plus Winetricks:

sudo dpkg --add-architecture i386
sudo add-apt-repository ppa:ubuntu-wine/ppa
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install wine winetricks
winetricks --gui

I entered those commands, one at a time, in a fresh Mint 17.3 KDE installation in VirtualBox. I got as far as “sudo apt-get update.” That one froze partway through its completion. It occurred to me that I had not yet configured that installation’s System Settings > Software Sources. I hit Ctrl-C to kill that process, and went into Software Sources > click on the default Official Repositories to find those that might be faster. Then I clicked the Update the Cache button. That, too, seemed to stall out partway through. When I clicked the Show Individual Files option, I saw that a number of items had Failed. I hit Cancel. I wanted to try again, but the Update the Cache button was no longer available. I switched to a different Main repository. That brought back the Update the Cache button. I tried again. There were still some Failed items, but I was not sure whether they were the same ones. On a third try, we were down to only four Failed items. Fourth time, I deliberately tried a slow repository, but that didn’t help either. I tried again the next day. Again, some failed items. A search led to suggestions that Software Sources might keep trying and that another indicator was running sudo apt-get update and seeing the word “Done” at the end, as distinct from an error message. This information panned out: both Software Sources and the sudo apt-get update command eventually concluded satisfactorily. So the answer was, just wait a while.

After that, I was able to run the remaining commands shown above. The “winecfg” command brought up an offer to install Mono. The Linux Mint instructions told me to click Install on that, and likewise on the Gecko offer that followed. The latter came up twice. Then I had the Wine Configuration dialog. I did not yet have anything specific to configure, so I closed that and ran the “winetricks –gui” command. That brought up the Winetricks GUI. It told me to choose a wineprefix. A search suggested that hardly anyone had questions about this. The reason appeared to be that the “choose a wineprefix” heading was misleading: this was actually just a menu. I tried the first item, “View help.” That opened a Google Code Archive for Winetricks, and that told me that Winetricks had moved to github. The GitHub location offered an Issues page, but did not seem to have forums or other support. It seemed I would have to Google for instructions as needed.

Trying Again with DWP

Now that I seemed to have Wine installed, it was time to make another attempt to run the DWP.exe program from Windows. As above, I started with the GUI approach: navigate to DWP.exe > right-click > Open With > Wine Windows Program Loader. That failed with the same message as before: “The Digital Wave Player is not installed.” Again, in a command prompt at the Desktop (where DWP.exe was located), I tried “wine DWP.exe.” As before, that produced many error messages, of which the first was

fixme:ole:RemUnknown_QueryInterface No interface for iid {00000019-0000-0000-c000-000000000046}

A search led to a WineHQ forum discussion in which someone pointed out that Wine would not be able to access the hardware until Linux recognized it. But as I thought about it, that seemed irrelvant: Digital Wave Player was able to install in Windows even when there was no Olympus hardware connected to the computer. Another remark said,

When launching Wine from a console, you should expect that it throws out a lot of “stuff” – there are a lot of “fixme” lines but can usually be ignored.

So possibly I was not searching for the key error message. It had been some days since I started this post, and at this point I was not sure whether I had tried a search that now seemed obvious. That search gave me (1 2 3 4) indications that DWP.exe could be successfully installed in Wine, but no explanations of how. Someone mentioned the alternative of using an audio cable and recording the streaming output from the Olympus device via Audacity, but of course that analog method would take far more time and produce far worse recordings than upload via the digital USB cable. A revised search led to no helpful information.

I tried a search for a different error message in the output that I got when I ran “wine DWP.exe” from the command line. This time, I ignored the “fixme” lines and searched instead for this:

err:ole:ClientIdentity_QueryMultipleInterfaces IRemUnknown_RemQueryInterface failed with error 0x80004002

That error recurred multiple times in the command output. The search returned a small number of results. One discussion reminded me that I hadn’t done anything yet with “winecfg” or “winetricks –gui.” In winecfg, I started with the Applications tab. When I ran DWP in Windows, I saw that it was listed as Copyright 2001-2006. The winecfg default Windows version was XP. Wikipedia said that XP came out in fall 2001, so possibly DWP was designed to run with XP’s predecessors, Windows ME and/or Windows 98. So I changed it to Windows ME and tried “wine DWP.exe” again. This time, I got a different error:


This cannot be installed on Windows 95/98/Me or Windows NT.

Quitting installation.

The Windows 7 option didn’t work either. So that took care of that possibility. I reset winecfg back to Windows XP and perused the other Wine tabs. None seemed to offer anything. The About tab notified me that I was running version 1.6.2. So that’s what the successful instructions had given me. I quit winecfg and tried “winetricks –gui.” It said, “You are using a 64-bit WINEPREFIX. If you encounter problems, please retest in a clean 32-bit WINEPREFIX before reporting a bug.” That was interesting in light of this remark:

There is brokenness in Wine64 and you may have struck one of those things that ‘just will not work’ or there is brokenness in one of the recent kernel releases for 64 bit Linux that breaks the ability to run 32 bit programs from a 64 bit system.

There were (1 2 3 4) other webpages echoing concerns about 64-bit Wine. My old DWP program was obviously 32-bit. So that was another possible problem. Before addressing that, though, in Winetricks I tried the “Install an app” option. This gave me a list of a few dozen programs, all dating from 2013 or before (in some cases, long before). DWP was not among them. I canceled out of that and tried the “Show broken apps” option. I could not see what difference that made. I tried the “Select the default wineprefix” option. That produced another list of options. There, I tried “Change settings.” The choices were specific. I didn’t see any that would obviously benefit my efforts. I went back to the list of options and tried “Install a Windows DLL or component.” I was interested in what would be accomplished by CMD (the Windows command line), so I selected that. I got a little dialog that said “Running …” but it seemed frozen. Eventually I canceled it.

So there were questions of whether I would be further ahead to run 32-bit Wine and/or a version more recent than 1.6.2. These questions would take me back to the possibility that I might once again be trying Wine installation options that would not work. But perhaps I could use the commands that did work, varying them only to specify that I wanted to install 32-bit Wine. Then it occurred to me that, as in the OSBoxes image that had finally given me a working Linux installation, I might be able to run Wine as a preconfigured appliance. A search led to VirtualBoxImages, offering old (circa 2008) Ubuntu and Wine virtual appliances for $1. Otherwise, though, the idea of a preconfigured Wine appliance appeared to be a nonstarter.

Making It 32- Rather Than 64-Bit

Given the foregoing concerns about 64-bit Wine — phrased in a WineHQ FAQ as involving “significant bugs that prevent many 32 bit applications from working in a 64 bit wineprefix” — it seemed I had to get Wine to run as 32-bit. An AskUbuntu discussion conveyed several points:

  • On 64-bit Ubuntu 12.04, both 32-bit and 64-bit Wine support were installed. This enabled a 64-bit Windows program to function as if it were on 64-bit Windows — except that Wine did not really support that very well.
  • To make Wine run only in 32-bit mode, delete the hidden /home/[username]/.wine folder (written in shorthand as ~/.wine), or rename it if it contained data to be saved. Then enter the command export WINEARCH=win32 and then reinstall Wine apps (if any) and run Wine or Winetricks.
  • To avoid having to enter that export command every time before running Wine, Staiger explained that it would run automatically, whenever the bash shell (i.e., Terminal, i.e., command line) was started, if it was put into the ~/.bashrc file. As advised in this AskUbuntu discussion, I did that. Presumably I would have to edit the Wine shortcut in the Start menu to run this as well, if I intended to start Wine that way.
  • Another commenter said that PlayOnLinux would provide the 32-bit option as well. But someone else seemed to say that did not work.

With that .bashrc change in place, I killed and restarted the bash (Konsole, i.e., Terminal) shell and again ran “wine DWP.exe” from the command line. The first time I ran it, I was in the wrong folder, so Wine didn’t find DWP.exe. The command also produced a handful of errors. Someone said that most of these errors were “normal terminal output when a wineprefix is created.” Reassured, I navigated to the Desktop, where DWP.exe was located, and ran the command a second time. Unfortunately, I had not found the solution: I got the same error as before: “The Digital Wave Player is not installed.” Most of the other error messages that appeared the first time I ran Wine were not repeated the second time. One exception:

fixme:storage:create_storagefile Storage share mode not implemented.

A search for that error led to a suggestion to use “sudo apt-get install q4wine” to install the Q4wine GUI, presumably in place of PlayOnLinux. But a note (apparently from the developer) in early 2016 indicated that s/he intended to rewrite it completely due to “a lot of design issues and limitations.” To run Q4wine despite those limitations, the advice was to run winecfg (if I hadn’t already done so) in order to get it set up, and then run q4wine. I had to agree with the commenter who asked how this was easier than using the command line — except that the command line wasn’t working for me. I went into Synaptic and installed Q4wine, and then typed q4wine on the command line. I ran through the default settings until I got to the question about Profile Strings. A search for that yielded no insights, so I just moved on. At this point, an instructional webpage opened up. There did seem to be a fair amount of complexity to this, and I was beginning to get impatient.

I went back to Synaptic and looked at the more recent versions of Wine. I had wine1.6, wine1.6-amd64, and wine1.6-i386:i386. I marked these and Q4wine for removal, and marked wine1.8 for installation (and was informed that the 1.8 counterparts of those other 1.6 packages would also be installed). I went ahead with this. I wasn’t sure exactly where this would leave me, so I tried “wine DWP.exe” again. That invoked the Mono and Gecko installers, as before. The process continued, and I got the same “Digital Wave Player is not installed” error as before.

Trying a Different Linux

By this time, it had occurred to me that perhaps DWP.exe was not working for me, as it had worked for others, because I was using the KDE desktop environment. I did not know of any particular reason why that would have been the problem, but I did recall seeing multiple indications that Cinnamon was the best-working variety of Linux Mint. I downloaded the OSBoxes images for Linux Mint 17.3 x64 Cinnamon and, while I was at it, for Kubuntu 16.04 x64. Using the OSBoxes instructions, I set up the Cinnamon VM. I booted it, went into Software Sources, chose good repositories, and updated the cache. I went into Synaptic, clicked Reload, and ran a Name search for wine. Version 1.6 was the latest one available through Synaptic, so I installed that and winetricks. I exited from Synaptic, ran winecfg and winetricks, installed Mono and Gecko when prompted, selected the default wineprefix, and then exited Winetricks. I deleted ~/.wine. There did not seem to be any ~/.bashrc file, so I entered export WINEARCH=win32 on the command line. Then I ran “wine DWP.exe.” It failed with the usual error dialog and a long list of errors. I tried again. Some of the error messages looked familiar.

I closed out of that Cinnamon VM and, using substantially the same steps, tried a Kubuntu VM. Apparently I had grown very short of patience. I tolerated Kubuntu for about five minutes and decided this was not the right direction. Things did not seem to be working as well as they had in Mint.

Trying a Different Windows Installer

It seemed that I had to accept that, by some magic, some people had gotten DWP.exe to work in Wine, and it was just not going to happen for me. That possibility would be more plausible, however difficult to understand, if I was able at least to run some other Windows executable.

I decided to try IrfanView. I had already gotten it to work in Wine, using Linux Mint 17.3 Xfce. In a fresh KDE VM, I installed wine1.6 and winetricks via Synaptic. I ran winetricks and went through the Mono and Gecko installations. In Winetricks, I chose Select the default wineprefix > Install a Windows DLL or component > select mfc42. Going ahead with that opened what appeared to be a license agreement in German. I answered “Ja.” The title bar on Winetricks said, “Current prefix is “/home/osboxes/.wine.” I had the IrfanView installer (iview442_setup.exe) in a shared folder, so now I closed winetricks, went into KDE’s Dolphin file manager, navigated to that shared folder, right-clicked on the IrfanView installer, and chose Open With > Wine Windows Program Loader. I went with all the defaults. IrfanView ran.

Now that I knew I had a working Wine installation, I tried one more time with DWP.exe. I used the same steps that had just been successful with IrfanView: right-click on DWP.exe in the shared folder > Open With > Wine Windows Program Loader. Fail: got the same Severe error message. The conclusion seemed to be that the problem wasn’t the Wine installation, or Linux; it was just something about the Olympus Digital Wave Player software. This was a successful Wine installation.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

