Installing a Brother DCP-7065DN Printer in Linux Mint Cinnamon 17.3

I had a Brother DCP-7065DN multifunction machine. I wanted to use it with a new Linux Mint Cinnamon 17.3 installation. This post describes the steps I took to get it to work.

The following points convey my interpretation of advice found at various websites linked below. This information may or may not be safe, helpful, or successful for others.

  • I connected the printer’s USB cable.
  • I searched by name in Start > Administration > Synaptic Package Manager to verify that sane-utils, psutils, and either ia32-libs or lib32stdc++ were installed. (Later, when retracing these steps to install the printer in Xubuntu, I did have to install the latter. I chose lib32stdc++6. I also had to install apparmor-utils to make the aa-complain command work.)
  • I went into Start (i.e., the Mint “Menu” button) > Administration > Printers. (In Xubuntu, Start > Settings > Printers.) There, I saw this: “There are no printers configured yet.” If I had seen a printer there, one source advised deleting it if it wasn’t working. I left this window open.
  • I ran this command: sudo mkdir /var/spool/lpd. (In Xubuntu, with the Brother printer already recognized, that was unnecessary: the command produced a message: “cannot create directory ‘/var/spool/lpd’: File exists.”)
  • I downloaded the latest Linux printer and scanner drivers from the Brother webpage. This consisted of three Debian (.deb) packages: the Driver Install Tool (linux-brprinter-installer-2.0.0-1.gz, from which I used the right-click option in the Linux file manager to extract the program files), the 64-bit Scan Key Tool (brscan-skey-0.2.4-1.amd64.deb), and the Scanner Setting file (brother-udev-rule-type1-1.0.0-1.all.deb), all dated 3/12/2014. (In Xubuntu, I skipped the printer driver and installation, and focused instead on the scanning downloads and installation.)
  • Installing the Driver Install Tool by graphical user interface (GUI) — that is, by clicking on the unzipped download) did add the DCP-7065DN to the Printers window (above), but an attempt to print a text file failed. Instead, I had to use this command, in the folder where the unzipped download was stored: sudo bash linux-brprinter-installer-2.0.0-1 DCP7065DN. (Note: that folder needed to have no spaces in its pathname. Note also that I removed the hyphen from the printer’s name.) The command produced this notice:

You are going to install following packages.

  • During that command-line installation, when asked “Will you specify the DeviceURI?” I said No, as advised in the installation instructions at the Brother download webpage, because my printer connection was via USB, not network (i.e., ethernet). This procedure produced a successful test print despite an error message that said, “Restarting Common Unix Printing System cupsd . . . Fail!”
  • Installing the Scanner Setting file via the GDebi GUI (i.e., by double-clicking on the brother-udev-rule-type1-1.0.0-1.all.deb file) seemed to work: the Simple Scan program built into Cinnamon Mint was able to scan.
  • Installing the Scan Key Tool via GUI did not work: pressing the Scan button on the scanner achieved nothing. Instead, I had to use these commands, in the folder where I had saved the download:
sudo dpkg -i --force-all brscan-skey-0.2.4-1.amd64.deb
brscan-skey -l

The first command installed the Scan Key Tool; the second one apparently started brscan-skey as a background process; and the third printed a one-line indication that the DCP-7065DN was USB Active. After taking those steps, the scanner ran, and GIMP (apparently the default image editor in this new Cinnamon installation) displayed the results.

With those steps completed, it appeared the Brother DCP-7065DN installation in Cinnamon was successful. I will add that this was a superior result compared to Windows, in that the scanner’s buttons had not been functioning in my Windows 7 installation. Unfortunately, it worked only that time. In a subsequent attempt in Linux Mint Cinnamon, I could print, but the scanning functions remained unavailable. I hoped, though, to develop another post using a pass-through technique from a Windows virtual machine.

Postscript: Xubuntu

As noted above, I used these instructions again, later, with a Xubuntu installation. Unfortunately, the scanner instructions did not succeed. After an attempt to install via GUI, Start > Graphics > Simple Scan did not work: it seemed to be scanning, after a moment’s delay, but it did not capture an image from the scanner. Instead, the Brother website seemed to tell me to use these commands:

sudo aa-complain cupsd
sudo mkdir /usr/share/cups/model
sudo dpkg -i brother-udev-rule-type1-1.0.0-1.all.deb

Unfortunately, the second of those commands proved unnecessary, and after these steps Simple Scan still did not capture an image. I could have retested it with gscan2pdf, but that package was not installed in Xubuntu; the files accompanying it took 200MB; and I had no specific reason to think it would make a difference. Likewise, the Scankey Tool did not work in Xubuntu, regardless of whether I installed via GUI or command line.

There was a further suggestion: type sudo gedit /lib/udev/rules.d/40-libsane.rules and add these two lines to the end of the libsane rules section. That section, filling most of the file, consisted largely of entries beginning with ATTRS. The next section began with, “# The following rule will disable USB autosuspend for the device.” The two lines to add to the end of the libsane rules section were as follows:

# Brother scanners
ATTRS{idVendor}=="04f9", ENV{libsane_matched}="yes"

Then I was supposed to save the file, exit, and restart the computer. Unfortunately, this did not help.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

